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Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 

Mission Statement 
 
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 
administer sections of the 
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Laws and regulations as charged; while 
providing a high level of customer 
service for the automotive consumer 
and dealer community. 
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AUTOMOTIVE YOUTH EDUCATIONAL 
SYSTEMS (AYES)  

 
AYES is a partnership among participating automotive 
manufacturers, the National Automobile Dealers 
Association, Automotive Trade Association Executives, 
State Departments of Education and Labor, local 
dealerships and select high schools and technical and 
prep schools across the country.  AYES’ goal is to 
encourage quality students with a good mechanical 
aptitude to pursue careers in the fields of automotive 
technology and prepare them for entry-level positions in 
dealerships. 
 
Recently, (AYES) and Automotive Service Excellence 
(ASE) announced that they were joining forces.  With 
this new partnership, it appears that the AYES 
Headquarters will be moving from Troy, Michigan to 
ASE headquarters in Leesburg, Virginia.  
  
“ASE will manage ongoing AYES program operations,” 
said Tim Zilke, ASE President & CEO. “In the current 
automotive environment, both organizations believe 
joining AYES with the ASE family will result in an 
effective model for all stakeholders and students.” 
  
The AYES Executive Board is meeting this 
month. Chuck Roberts, ASE Executive Director, 
Industry Relations will be presenting his business plan 
to the Executive Board at the meeting. More details of 
the agreement and how it will affect the program will 
become clearer after the March board meeting. 
 

 
(Continued on page 4) 
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Calendar of Events 
 

All Meetings held at DMV 
Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 
702  Richmond, VA 

 
 
Monday, May 11, 2009 
Time:  8:30 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, May 11, 2009 
Time:  Immediately following 
Dealer Practices 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, May 11, 2009 
Time:  9:30 a.m. 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, May 11, 2009 
Time: Immediately following 
Advertising 
Transaction Recovery Fund 
Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, May 11, 2009 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, 
 but not earlier than  
 scheduled. 

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
 

Bradley R. Mowry and Auto Outlet of Manassas, Inc.  A 
December 3, 2008 inspection of this dealer revealed serious 
record-keeping problems and salespersons who were not 
employees.  An inspection conducted on February 12, 2009 
revealed similar problems.  On January 21, 2009, an 
informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address 
the alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 46.2-1537 
(failure to have salespersons properly licensed), 46.2-1542 
(improper issuance of 30 day tags), 46.2-1548/1550 (use of 
dealer’s license plates, generally), 46.2-1559 (Records to be 
kept by dealers; inspection) and 46.2-1561 (to whom 
temporary plates shall not be issued).  Based on the hearing 
officer’s report and the evidence, the Board assessed a 
$1,000 civil penalty against Mr. Mowry and Auto Outlet of 
Manassas, Inc.; and directed the Board Staff to conduct a 
re-inspection of the dealership.  If the re-inspection is not 
satisfactory, the Board will suspend all licenses and 
certificates issued by the Board to Mr. Mowry for a minimum 
of 30 days or until what time Mr. Mowry has a successful 
inspection, whichever is longer. 
 
Michael H. Margulies and MLX Corporation.  Five 
attempts to inspect this Richmond dealership in under five 
months time were unsuccessful as the dealership was not 
opened during its posted business hours.  After the second 
attempt – the dealer wrote a letter to the MVDB stating that 
he had resolved all issues and was ready for an inspection.  
However, three days after writing that letter, he was not at 
the dealership when field representative Winderweedle 
arrived for an inspection.  This failed inspection resulted in a 
December 8, 2008 letter to the dealer, assessing a $250 civil 
penalty.  Mr. Margulies appealed the civil penalty and 
requested a hearing.  Winderweedle attempted another 
inspection on December 23, and once again the dealership 
was closed. On February 9, 2009, an informal fact-finding 
conference was conducted to address the alleged 
violation(s) of VA Code Sections 46.2-1533 (failure to 
maintain posted business hours and 46.2-1575(2) (failure to 
comply subsequent to receipt of a written warning).  The 
Board voted to assess a $500 civil penalty and revoked all 
licenses issued by the Board to Mr. Margulies. 

(Continued on page 3) 
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HOLIDAYS HOURS 

 
In observance of the upcoming 
holidays, all state agencies, 
including the Dealer Board, will 
be closed on the following date: 
 

 
 
 

Monday 
MEMORIAL DAY 
May 25, 2009 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
(Continued from page 2) 

 
Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund.  At the 
March Board meeting, the Transaction Recovery Fund 
Committee and the Board considered and approved the 
following claims: 
 
Romulo B. Garcia & K J Auto Group, Inc.  In August of 
2008, a judgment in the amount of $75,000 in actual 
damages; $25,000 in punitive damages; $6,837.15 in 
attorney fees; and $163 in court costs was entered 
against this dealer in Fairfax County Circuit Court.  The 
dealer did not pay this judgment, and therefore the 
consumer filed a claim against the Fund.  The Board 
approved a $20,000 payment (Maximum allowed by law.) 
from the Fund.  This is the second payment made from 
the Fund on behalf of this dealer. 
 
Amin Kargar & Car Quest Auto Sales, Inc.  In 
December of 2007, a consumer lawfully attempted to 
return a vehicle purchased from this dealer as the vehicle 
had previously been “totaled” and this fact was not 
revealed to the purchaser.  In addition, the vehicle was not 
safe to drive.  The dealer refused to rescind the contract 
and eventually the consumer was awarded a judgment in 
the amount of $22,636.00 in Fairfax County Circuit Court.  
As the dealer did not pay the judgment, the consumer 
sought relief from the Recovery Fund.  The Board 
approved a payment from the Fund in the amount of 
$20,000, which is the maximum allowed by law. 
 
Rodney J. Price and RSD Motors.  The Board 
considered two claims filed against the Fund as a result of 
this dealer failing to pay judgments.  Both claims, totaling 
$13,010.60 were approved.  Previously the Board had 
approved five claims against this dealer totaling 
$21,302.06. 
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Helpful Tips and 
Reminders 

 
Criminal History Checks:  Save 
time and money when hiring a 
new salesperson by ordering 
your own criminal background 
check.  ScreeningOne is the 
vendor used by the Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board to check 
the criminal history of new 
salesperson applicants.  With 
this new initiative, you will be 
able to run nationwide criminal 
background checks on not only 
your new salesperson 
applicants, but applicants for 
any position in your 
organization.  You could even 
run periodic criminal 
backgrounds of any and all of 
your employees.  The cost -- 
just $8.50 for each criminal 
background you run. 
 
Once you have signed up for this 
service, you can run a 
nationwide criminal 
background, sex offender and 
OFAC check before you send the 
salesperson application to the 
Board.  We will be able to view 
the criminal background check 
that you ordered and if there 
are no problems – we will 
proceed to license your new 
salesperson.  For additional 
information please contact Paul 
Craddock at ScreeningOne toll 
free at 888-327-6511; ext 109 or 
pcraddock@ScreeningOne.com. 
 

 
 (Continued on page 5) 

AUTOMOTIVE YOUTH EDUCATIONAL 
SYSTEMS (AYES) 

(Continued from page 1) 

 
 
The 22 AYES programs in Virginia are conducting their 
2nd business and education meetings of the year.  
These B&E meetings are essential to keeping our AYES 
programs on track with the immediate needs of 
dealerships. 
  
Many schools conducted job shadowing over the winter 
break, but some will finish over Spring break.  AYES 
programs are also conducting their AYES mentor 
banquets.  New dealers receive an AYES plaque that 
shows the years they have taken an intern.  Mentors 
are receiving the gold-plated AYES Mentor Snap-On 
wrench and other gifts for serving as a mentor in 
2008.  
  
If should you have any questions about VADA’s AYES 
Partnership, please call John Jessup at 804.545.3027 
or John Cates at 804.545.3010.  For more information 
about the AYES program visit www.ayes.org. 
 
(Printed with permission from the Virginia Automobile 
Dealers Association.)   
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Helpful Tips and 
Reminders 

(Continued from page 4) 

 
Safety Inspection:  Virginia Code 
Section 46.2-1539 states in part 
that “No . . . dealer . . .  shall sell 
at retail any motor vehicle which is 
intended by the buyer for use on 
the public highways,  . . . unless 
between the time the vehicle 
comes into the possession of the 
dealer and the time it is sold at 
retail it is inspected by an official 
safety inspection station. In the 
event the vehicle is found not to 
be in compliance with all safety 
inspection requirements, the 
dealer shall either take steps to 
bring it into compliance or shall 
furnish any buyer intending it for 
use on the public highway a 
written disclosure, prior to sale, 
that the vehicle did not pass a 
safety inspection. Any person 
found guilty of violating any of the 
provisions of this section shall be 
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.”  
 
We understand that some dealers 
do not safety inspect a vehicle 
until after it is sold, but before it 
is delivered.  A careful reading of 
the law reveals that before the 
customer signs a buyers order, (A 
contract to purchase a vehicle.) 
the vehicle must be safety 
inspected.  For all practical 
purposes this means that once you 
take possession of a motor vehicle 
and begin to actively 
market/display the vehicle, you 
must have it safety inspected.  
There is nothing from preventing 
you from subjecting a motor 
vehicle to another safety 
inspection just prior to delivering 
it to your customer. 

(Continued on page 6) 

DMV ACTIONS  
 
We like to keep Dealer Talk fresh and provide our readers with 
information that is educational and of interest to those in the 
motor vehicle dealer community. 
 
As an agency, the MVDB does not have “police powers” and 
therefore can not make arrests in matters that carry a criminal 
sanction.  Over the years, MVDB and DMV have worked very 
closely to investigate situations that may include alleged 
criminal activity. 
 
The DMV LAW ENFORCEMENT SERVICES (LES) unit plays a 
significant role in enforcing criminal laws related to the sale of 
motor vehicles as well as titling and registration of motor 
vehicles 
 
A new feature of Dealer Talk will be a summary of convictions 
as a result of investigations conducted by DMV Law Enforcement 
Services.  Many of these investigations were conducted in 
partnership with Dealer Board staff. 
 
JOHN G DONOVAN and EXTREME SUZUKI, LLC (Out of 
Business) On January 1, 2008 Donovan was arrested for selling 
vehicles and not supplying titles to the purchasers.  The titles 
were being held by a floor-planner.  Donovan was charged with 
15 counts under §46.2-617 of the Code of Virginia.  The court 
fined Donovan one hundred dollars each for the 12 counts plus 
court cost. 
 

SEQUOIA AUTO SALES (Out of Business) The trial of Mustafa 
Hashimi and Wafi Akbary for title fraud committed under  
Sequoia Auto Sales was held on December 3rd and 4th in Stafford 
County Circuit Court.  Each man was charged with sixteen 
felony charges: 

Obtain money under false pretenses; Fraudulent conversion or 
removal of property subject to lien or title to which is held by 
another (A.F.C.); Embezzlement of monies collected for 
remittance to Virginia DMV for title and registration and VA 
Vehicle Sales Tax.  The Obtain money under false pretenses 
charges were dismissed by Judge Sharp leaving ten felony 
charges for court adjudication. 
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Helpful Tips and 
Reminders 

(Continued from page 5) 
 
NEW GUIDELINES:  We are always 
looking for new ways and tools to 
educate dealers.  Our newest tool is 
guidelines for dealers to use to 
determine their responsibilities and 
options for titling and “plating” 
vehicles they have sold.  These new 
guidelines will be particularly helpful 
in those situations when the dealer 
in not able to secure a title within 30 
days after the sale.  As you know, if 
you have agreed to title and register 
a vehicle for your customers, you 
must pay all of the required fees and 
apply for a title within 30 days of 
the sale even if you do not have the 
existing title. 
 
The Guidelines are posted on our 
WEB site.  If you go to 
www.mvdb.virginia.gov  -- click on 
the last item in the “What’s Hot” 
box.  The guidelines can also be 
accessed from the “Dealer and 
Salesperson” section of our WEB 
site. 
 
Or click on this link: Guidelines to 
Issue Subsequent Temporary and 
Metal Plates (PDF) | (Word) 
 
Send Us Your Buyers Order: Please 
remember that whenever you change 
your buyer’s order you must send a 
copy to the Board.  Also, if you make 
any changes to your processing fee, 
you must notify us as well. 
 
 
 

DMV ACTIONS 
(Continued from  page 5) 

 

Mr. Akbary pled guilty (Alford Plea) to all sixteen felony 
charges to include payment of restitution to all victims 
(except for A.F.C.).  In exchange for his plea, the 
Commonwealth will not seek any further criminal 
prosecution involving other criminal cases.  Judge Sharp 
accepted this plea and requested a pre-sentence report be 
prepared that Mr. Akbary will be sentenced on these sixteen 
felony charges in the Circuit Court in Stafford County. 

Mr. Hashimi eventually pled guilty (Alford Plea) to all ten 
felony charges to include restitution to all victims of Sequoia 
Auto Mart's fraudulent transactions (except for A.F.C.).  In 
exchange for the guilty plea, the Commonwealth will not 
seek any further criminal prosecution involving other 
criminal cases.  Judge Sharp accepted this plea and 
requested a pre-sentence report be prepared that Hashimi 
will be sentenced on these ten felony charges in the Circuit 
Court in Stafford Count. 

DMV Agents will be meeting with the Commonwealth’s 
Attorney on a later date to calculate the total amount of 
restitution owed by the Suspect and the Co-defendants 
payable to the victims (except for A.F.C.).  

EUGENE LESTER, (OPERATING A DEALERSHIP WITHOUT 
BEING LICENSED) Lester was charged for selling ten motor 
vehicles in a twelve month period.  DMV subpoenaed 
representatives of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board to testify 
that Lester was not a licensed dealer.  Lester was found 
guilty in Prince Edward General District Court on charges of 
acting as a dealer without a license.  He was fined $100.00 
plus cost and given a stern warning by Judge Woodson. 
 
NATHANIEL CHILES, (OPERATING A DEALERSHIP WITHOUT 
BEING LICENSED) Chiles sold approximately eighteen 
vehicles in nine months.  He was convicted of operating a 
dealership without a license and was fined $100 and 
received 30 days suspended sentence.  He noted an appeal. 
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Advertising and your 
Processing Fee 

 
 
In advertisements that include 
the price of vehicles, you must 
either include your processing fee 
in the advertised price or in the 
form of a disclaimer/disclosure.  
This requirement applies to all 
advertisements – including “in-
line” newspaper ads, internet 
advertising, mailers, specialty 
auto advertising publications, 
etc.  The law states in part:  “If a 
processing fee or freight or 
destination charges are not 
included in the advertised price, 
the amount of any such 
processing fee and freight or 
destination charge must be (i) 
clearly and conspicuously 
disclosed in not less than eight-
point boldface type or (ii) not 
smaller than the largest typeface 
within the advertisement. If the 
processing fee is not included in 
the advertised price, the amount 
of the processing fee may be 
omitted from any advertisement 
in which the largest type size is 
less than eight-point typeface, so 
long as the dealer participates in 
a media-provided listing of 
processing fees and the dealer's 
advertisement includes an 
asterisk or other such notation to 
refer the reader to the listing of 
the fees.” 
 

DMV ACTIONS 
(Continued from  page 6) 

 

JAMES KEY (OPERATING A DEALERSHIP WITHOUT BEING 
LICENSED) After receiving a complaint from the MVDB an 
investigation was launched to determine if Key was in violation 
of the motor vehicle dealer laws.  After review of the records 
and interviewing Key, a warrant was obtained for operating a 
dealership without a license.  Key was convicted and fined 
$1000 with $500 suspended.  In addition, he received 12 
months in jail all of which was suspended based on his good 
behavior over the next 12 months. 
 
DAVID SHIFFLETT (OPERATING A DEALERSHIP WITHOUT 
BEING LICENSED)  MVDB field representative W.T. Jackson 
initiated an investigation of Shifflet who was selling vehicles on 
Rt. 33 in Greene County.  Shifflett was utilizing family 
member’s names in order to obtain titles to circumvent the 
law.  DMV LES charged Shifflett for engaging in business in the 
Commonwealth as a motor vehicle dealer without first having 
obtained a license.  Shifflett was found guilty and sentenced to 
six months in jail.  The sentence was suspended based on a two 
year unsupervised probation period.  Shifflett was ordered to 
pay court costs. 
 
ANTHONY KANER MULLINS, (OPERATING A DEALERSHIP 
WITHOUT BEING LICENSED) While conducting a title 
investigation DMV LES found that Mullins had bought and sold 
eleven vehicles in under a twelve month time frame.  A 
warrant was obtained for operating as a dealer without a 
dealer’s license. The Wise County General District Court found 
Mr. Mullins guilty and fined him $2,500.00 with $2,000.00 
suspended; ten days in jail, with ten days suspended; twelve 
months inactive probation and 24 hours of community service. 
 

JAMES NATHANIEL HUMPHRIES (OPERATING A DEALERSHIP 
WITHOUT BEING LICENSED) DMV was advised that 
Humphries was curbstoning and skipping titles for vehicles.  
The assigned DMV LES Special Agent went to the alleged 
location and discovered several vehicles displayed for sale.  
Further research revealed that Humphries had failed to title 
vehicles into his own name and then sold the vehicles.  The 
DMV Special Agent served two summonses on Humphries for 
Failure to title a vehicle within 30 days.  Humphries paid a 
$50.00 fine and $71.00 in court costs to Rockbridge County 
General District Court.  
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Dealer-Operator Course 
 

The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association 
(VIADA) have teamed up to present a two-day Dealer-Operator course. The following is a list of up-coming 
classes. The list is regularly updated on our WEB site at 
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/licensingprocess.htm. 
 

2009 
 
April 7 & 8 - Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg 
Contact: Susan Brown; 540-891-3012; www.gcc.vccs.edu/workforce   
 
April 21 & 22 – New River Community College, Dublin 
Contact: Dianne Belcher; 540-674-3657; http://www2.nr.edu/admissions/ 
 
May 5 & 6 - Danville Community College, Danville 
Contact: Registration; 434-797-6437; www.dcc.vccs.edu/workforce 
 
May 19 & 20 – Thomas Nelson Community College, Hampton 
Contact: Registration; 757-825-2934; www.tncc.edu 
 
June 9 & 10 – Northern Virginia Community College, Reston 
Contact: Claire Wynn; 703-450-2551 or 2552; www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 
 
June 23 & 24 - Patrick Henry Community College, Martinsville Campus 
Contact: Tisha McMillion; 276-656-0354; www.ph.vccs.edu 
 
July 7 & 8 - Community College Workforce Alliance at J. Sargeant Reynolds Community 
College, North Run Campus, Henrico, County Contact: Sandy or Lisa; 804-523-2292; 
www.ccwa.vccs.edu 
 
July 21 & 22 - Lord Fairfax Community College, Middletown 
Contact: Registration; 540-868-7021; www.lfccworkforce.com 
 
August 4 & 5 - Virginia Western Community College, Roanoke 
Contact: Anne Koon; 540-767-6131; www.virginiawestern.edu  
 
August 18 & 19 - Blue Ridge Community College, Weyers Cave  
Contact: Registration; 540-453-2215; www.brcc.edu 
 
Registration materials and information are available from each of the Community Colleges’ WEB 
site or by calling the individual college. 
 
The cost is $300 and must be submitted by check or credit card, payable to the college, and 
submitted with the registration. 
 

 


