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DISCOUNTS IMPLEMENTED 

 
Beginning with the January renewal cycle, you will receive a discount in your licensing fee if you renew for 
two years and/or if you renew over the Internet. 
 
Here is how it works:  If you choose to renew your dealer license for two years, the fee will be discounted 
by $25.  The current single year dealer license fee is $200.  With implementation of the discount, you will 
pay $375 for two years.  Not only will you be saving money, but you will also have the convenience of 
only needing to renew your license every other year. 
 
The second discount now offered by the Dealer Board is for those dealers who choose to renew their 
licenses over the Internet.  Through our partnership with Virginia Interactive you can conduct nearly all of 
your transactions with the Board on-line.  If you renew on-line, you will receive a $50 discount off of the 
$200 licensing fee.                                                                                                                                 (continued on page 2) 
      

INSIDE THIS ISSUE: 
1 .  D I S C O U N T S  I M P L E M E N T E D !  

1 .  H O L I D A Y  S C H E D U L E  

2 .  D I S C O U N T S  I M P L E M E N T E D  ( C O N ’ T )

2 G O O D  N E W S !  

2 .  C A L E N D A R  O F  E V E N T S  

3 .  C U R B S T O N I N G  R E P O R T  

3 .  C O U R T  C A S E  

4 .  A C T I O N S  

5 .  A C T I O N S  ( C O N ’ T )  

6 .  R E M I N D E R S  &  U S E F U L  T I P S  

7 .  W E L C O M E  N E W  D E A L E R S  ( S E P T )  

8 .  W E L C O M E  N E W  D E A L E R S  (O C T )  

9 .  O N - L I N E  R E N E W A L S  

HOLIDAY HOURS 
In observance of the upcoming holidays, all 
state agencies, including the Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Board will be closed on the following 

dates: 
 

CHRISTMAS 
December 24 & 25, 2001 

 
NEW YEARS 

December 31, 2001 & 
January 1, 2002 

 
LEE-JACKSON DAY 

January 18, 2002 
 

MARTIN LURTHER KING DAY 
January 21, 2002 
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A Bi-monthly newsletter of The Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board 
 
Bruce Gould, Executive Director 
Peggy Bailey, Office Manager 
Debbie Allison, Field Representative Supervisor 
 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
2201 West Broad Street 
Suite 104 
Richmond, Virginia  23220 
Phone:  (804) 367-1100 
FAX:  (804) 367-1053 
Toll Free: (877) 270-0203 (Intra-State only) 
E-mail:  dboard@mvb.state.va.us 
Website: www.mvdb.vipnet.org 
 
NOTE: We make every effort to ensure information in Dealer 
Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute for legal advice. 
 

Calendar of Events 
All Meetings held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702, Richmond, VA 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time: 8:30 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time: 5 Minutes After Dealer Practices 
Franchise Law Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time: 9:30 a.m. 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time:   5 Minutes After Advertising 
Personnel Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time: 10:30 a.m. 
Finance Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time: 11:00 a.m. 
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 14, 2002 
Time: 1:45 p.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 
 scheduled.  Meeting end times are approximate. 
DISCOUNTS IMPLEMENTED
                                                           (continued from page 1)

 order to renew over the Internet and 
onduct other transactions on-line such as 
ubmitting an application for a new salesperson 
nd applying for a supplemental license plus 
uch more, the dealership must become a 
irginia Information Providers Network (VIPNet) 
ubscriber.  To become a subscriber, simply 
omplete the VIPNet Premium Service 
ubscription Agreement, the MVDB Addendum, 
nd pay the annual subscription fee of $50.00.  
or complete information and to see a 
emonstration of the various services, visit the 
IPNet Premium Services page at 
ww.vipnet.org/premium.  You can also see 
e demonstration at the Board’s Web site 
ww.mvdb.vipnet.org). 

s a VIPNet subscriber, you may also check the 
riving record of your employees or perspective 
mployees and request a vehicle record check 
n-line through DMV.  There is a minimal 
harge for these transactions.  Please see the 
yer on page 9 for more information. 

 

GOOD NEWS! 
or the past four years the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
oard has voted to suspend most dealer and 
alesperson payments into the Transaction 
ecovery Fund.  As the Fund is in good shape, 
e Board has voted to continue suspension of 
ese fees for year 2002 renewals.  This will 
ean a saving of $100 per dealer for all dealers 
ho have been in business for over three years 
nd a saving of $10 per salesperson at the time 
f renewal.  The $250 assessment on dealers in 
usiness three years or fewer as well as the 
10 assessment on first year salespersons will 
ontinue to be collected. 
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CURBSTONING REPORT
 

• Manassas Mall, a curbstone hotbed in Prince 
William County, has been under investigation 
for some time.  There are some unresolved 
issues as to property ownership, but the 
investigating Special Agent has worked with the 
management of the Sears store where the 
curbstoning has actually been taking place. 
Sears acknowledged the problem, and has 
erected warning signs on the property and  
contracted with a local towing company to have 
any vehicles displaying “for sale” signs removed 
from that area. 

 
• In the city of Norfolk, an undercover curbstone 

investigation revealed the owner of an Exxon 
station was obtaining vehicles at a local police 
auction for the purpose of resale.  One day, the 
subject had seven vehicles “for sale” on his 
property, and his employees offered to show 
the vehicles and sell them to the Special Agent. 
It was determined the subject was aware of the 
requirement to be licensed, yet he had been 
engaged in vehicle sales activity for more than 
seven months.  The subject was cited for 
selling vehicles without being properly licensed. 
A November court date is scheduled. 

 

 

COURT CASE 
 
The Ohio State Court of Appeals recently upheld the 
Ohio Motor Vehicle Dealer Board’s revocation of a 
dealer’s license for improper record keeping.  Similar 
to Virginia law, Ohio dealers are required to 
maintain records and have those records available 
to inspectors. 
 
In this case, inspectors were not able to view 
records because the dealership was closed during 
scheduled hours.  On a subsequent visit to the 
dealership, the dealership was opened, however the 
records were unavailable for inspection because the 
records “had been stolen.”  After an administrative 
hearing, the Board revoked the dealer’s license.  
Both the lower court and the Appeals Court upheld 
the Boards’ decision. 

CURBSTONING REPORT
 

• Since the last Dealer Board meeting, DMV 
Special Agents and MVDB representatives 
have issued 193 curbstone notices. 

 
• Board staff obtained its’ annual computer 

printout from DMV records, which identifies 
individuals who have titled and then sold a 
large number of cars.  Twenty-three of those 
individuals previously received warning letters 
from the Board, yet have continued to sell 
vehicles without being properly licensed.  
Those repeat offender cases were forwarded 
to DMV for further investigation. 

 
• In Roanoke County, a dealer complaint 

prompted an investigation at a convenience 
mart.  Initially, no vehicles were observed 
being displayed “for sale;” however, a week 
later, two vehicles were discovered with “for 
sale” signs at the location.  Both vehicles 
were registered to the property owner.  
Numerous attempts to contact the property 
owner proved unsuccessful.  Eventually, the 
owner responded to the Special Agent’s 
business card, which had been left at his 
residence.  He was advised of the laws 
regarding curbstoning and was also advised 
that further violations would result in criminal 
charges.  No further activity has been 
observed at this location. 

 
• In Spotsylvania County, a curbstoner was 

identified at the former Hudson’s market.  
Vehicles were subsequently removed. 

 
• Also in Spotsylvania County, a residential 

address appeared to be a curbstone site.  The 
owner of the property had sold five vehicles 
since 1998, and he was warned about 
curbstoning. 

  
• A Special Agent checked several vehicles 

displayed “for sale” in the city of Waynesboro. 
A search of the company’s internet web site 
revealed several vehicles posted “for sale” in 
Virginia.  The president of the company was 
advised to contact the Dealer Board and 
obtain a proper license. 
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ACTIONS FROM THE NOVEMBER 
BOARD MEETING 

 
Dealer Practices: This case began as an 
investigation of a consumer complaint.  The 
consumer responded to an advertisement in the 
Washington Post.  The advertisement did not 
include the name of the dealership or the 
abbreviation “VA DLR”.  The perspective buyer 
viewed the car at a private residence and was 
not informed of the fact that the car was in the 
inventory of a licensed dealer or that it had 
salvage history. 
 
The consumer decided to purchase the car and 
made arrangements with the seller to return in 
several days to complete the transaction.  The 
seller (a principal of the licensed dealership), 
“sold” and titled the vehicle in the name of a 
relative after the perspective buyer viewed the 
vehicle, but prior to completing the transaction 
with the buyer who had answered the newspaper 
advertisement.   
 
Based on this information, the Board convened 
an informal fact finding conference for alleged 
violations of § 46.2-1535, requiring dealers to 
identify the name of the dealership or the 
abbreviations “VA DLR” in all print 
advertisements, and for alleged violations of 
46.2-1575 (4) defrauding any retail buyer, to the 
buyer's damage, or any other person in the 
conduct of the licensee's or registrant's business; 
(6) having used deceptive acts or practices and 
(7) knowingly advertising a fact that is untrue, 
misleading or deceptive.   
 
The two dealer principals – Mr. Ahmad Ghaderi 
and Mr. Mohammad Iqbal stated that they did 
not sell the vehicle to the consumer, rather this 
was a private sale as the car was titled in the 
name of a relative when it was sold.  The 
dealership (Performance Auto Sales of 
Christiansburg) has since gone out of business. 
 
After reviewing the evidence and the report and 
recommendations of the hearing officer, the 
Board voted to assess a civil penalty of $1,000 
on Mr. Ghaderi and $2,000 on Mr. Iqbal.  The 
Board revoked the Certificates of Qualification for 
both men. 
 
 

ACTIONS FROM THE NOVEMBER 
BOARD MEETING 

 
Dealer Practices: In the course of an 
inspection, field representatives discovered that 
an individual was selling vehicles for a licensed 
Richmond area dealer without being licensed.  An 
informal fact finding conference was convened 
where evidence was presented documenting 
seventeen sales by the unlicensed individual.  
Compensating an unlicensed individual in 
connection with the sale of a motor vehicle is 
subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per 
occurrence. 
 
After considering the facts and reviewing the 
hearing officer’s report and recommendations, 
the Board adopted a resolution to assess a civil 
penalty totaling $2,500.  The dealer will have 33 
days to either pay the civil penalty or appeal the 
Board’s decision to circuit court.  Failure to pay 
the penalty or file an appeal will result in the 
immediate revocation of the dealer’s license. 
 
Dealer Practices: An informal fact finding 
conference was convened for a Fredericksburg 
area dealer to determine what, if any, action 
should be taken against her for allegedly paying 
“bird dogging” fees to an employee who was not 
licensed as a salesperson. 
 
After considering the facts and reviewing the 
hearing officer’s report and recommendations, 
the Board adopted a resolution to assess a civil 
penalty totaling $1,500.  The dealer will have 33 
days to either pay the civil penalty or appeal the 
Board’s decision to circuit court.  Failure to pay 
the penalty or file an appeal will result in the 
immediate revocation of the dealer’s license. 
 
Dealer Practices: After several verbal and 
written warnings, the Board convened an 
informal fact finding conference for Mr. William 
T. Bryden of Old Dominion Auto Brokers of 
Arlington for alleged violations of the dealer laws 
as they relate primarily to “record keeping.” 
 
In March of 2000 the informal conference was 
conducted.  Based on the evidence and the 
hearing officer’s report the Board voted to levy a 
$1,500 civil penalty and revoke all licenses issued 
by the Board to Mr. Bryden. Mr. Bryden appealed 
this decision and a formal hearing was convened.           
      (continued on page 5) 
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ACTIONS FROM THE NOVEMBER 
BOARD MEETING (continued) 

 
After reviewing the evidence and the report and 
recommendations of the hearing officer on the 
formal hearing, the Board voted to levy a $1,500 
civil penalty and revoke all licenses and 
certificates issued by the Board to Mr. Bryden.  
Mr. Bryden will have 33 days to either pay the 
civil penalty and surrender his licenses, 
certificates and registrations, or he can appeal 
the decision of the Board to circuit court. 
 
Dealer Practices: The Board convened an 
informal fact finding conference for Mr. Vincent 
Pfab, owner of Wythe Motor Company in 
Petersburg for alleged violations of § 46.2-1575 
(1), having made a material misstatement on an 
application and (2) for willful failure to comply 
with the dealer laws.  Evidence suggested that 
Mr. Pfab is an absentee “owner” and the 
dealership is run by Willard Nunnally.  Mr. 
Nunnally has criminal history and owes the 
Transaction Recovery Fund nearly $10,000.  For 
these reasons, Mr. Nunnally cannot be licensed 
by the Board. 
 
Based on the evidence, the hearing officer 
recommended to revoke all licenses issued to Mr. 
Pfab in the name of the Board for a number of 
alleged violations including making 
misrepresentations on applications and failure to 
maintain records even after being warned.  The 
executive director agreed with the hearing 
officer’s recommendation and Mr. Pfab appealed 
that decision. 
 
On June 1, 2001 a formal hearing was conducted 
and the new hearing officer came to conclusions 
similar to that as the first hearing officer.  Based 
on the evidence and the report and 
recommendations of the hearing officer, the 
Board voted to revoke all licenses and certificates 
issued to Mr. Pfab in the name of the Board.  Mr. 
Pfab will have 33 days to either surrender his 
licenses, certificates and registrations, or he can 
appeal the decision of the Board to circuit court. 

 

ACTIONS FROM THE NOVEMBER 
BOARD MEETING 

 
Dealer Licensing: Dealer Board staff learned 
that a Southwest area dealer had been convicted 
of felonies many years ago.  Board records 
indicated that the dealer had consistently 
answered “no” to the question that appears on 
MVDB applications, “Have you ever been 
convicted of a felony?” 
 
As a result of these alleged misstatements, an 
informal fact finding conference was convened.  
Based on the evidence and the report of the 
hearing officer, the Board levied a civil penalty on 
the dealer in the amount of $1,600 for having 
made material misstatements on MVDB 
applications.  The dealer will have 33 days to 
either pay the civil penalty or appeal the decision 
to circuit court. 
 
Dealer Licensing: The Board convened an 
informal fact finding conference for Mr. Preston 
L. Green of Virginia Beach for alleged violations 
of § 46.2-1575 (1) having made a material 
misstatement in an application for a license; (6) 
having used deceptive acts or practices; (9) 
having been convicted of any criminal act 
involving the business of selling vehicles.  Mr. 
Green had been convicted of falsifying the selling 
price of vehicles in order to lower the amount of 
sales tax due.  Mr. Green failed to note these 
convictions on his application materials to the 
Board.  The Hearing officer recommend that Mr. 
Green’s sales license be revoked.  The executive 
director agreed with the recommendation. 
 
Mr. Green appealed this decision and requested a 
formal hearing.  The hearing officer for the 
formal hearing also recommended revocation of 
Mr. Green’s license.  The Board agreed with the 
hearing officer in voting to revoke all licenses 
and certificates issued to Mr. Green by the 
Board.  Mr. Green will have 33 days to either 
surrender his license and certificate or he can 
appeal the decision of the Board to circuit court. 
 
Advertising: A Richmond area dealer was 
assessed a civil penalty totaling $15,000 for 
numerous and multiple advertising infractions.
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REMINDERS & USEFUL TIPS 
 
Do You Wholesale Vehicles? In a recent case 
in the Circuit Court of the City of Richmond, 
Merriman v. Auto Excellence, Inc., et al., the 
Court made a ruling that may be of interest to 
you.  In this case, a dealer wholesaled a vehicle 
to another wholesaler.  That wholesaler 
transferred the vehicle to a dealer who sold it to 
a consumer.  The consumer alleged that the 
vehicle had suffered damage and sued all three 
dealers in the transaction chain.  The dealer who 
first wholesaled the vehicle filed a demurrer, a 
pleading challenging the sufficiency of the claim.  
The dealer felt that it should not be a defendant 
in the case, since it had no contact whatsoever 
with the plaintiff/buyer.  The Court disagreed and 
denied the demurrer.  It viewed the dealer as a 
“supplier” under the Virginia Consumer 
Protection Act and held that the Act allows a 
lawsuit against a supplier whether or not it has 
direct contact with the consumer. 
 
Adapted from VADA Views, Oc ober 2001.  t
Printed with permission and thanks to the 
Virginia Automobile Dealers Association (VADA). 
 
Independent Contractor or Employee? How 
and when a licensed salesperson can use dealer 
tags is a function of their employment status 
with your dealership.  If you file an IRS form “W-
2” for the sales staff who work for your 
dealership at least 25 hours per week on a 
regular basis, he/she are considered “employees” 
and are therefore entitled to use and drive on 
dealer tags. 
 
If on the other hand, a salesperson files their 
own taxes using an IRS form “1099”, they may 
be considered an “independent contractor” rather 
than an employee.  If the salesperson is an 
independent contractor, they can only use dealer 
tags under very limited situations and only if a 
“PERMISSION TO USE DEALER’S LICENSE 
PLATES” form (DSD-27) is issued.  In fact, for  
the purposes of determining the number of 
dealer tags you are entitled to be issued, 
independent contractors should not be 
considered.  Only “employees” can be considered 
or counted when determining how many dealer 
plates can be issued to a dealer. 
 

REMINDERS & USEFUL TIPS 
 
Advertising a Price of a Pre-Owned Vehicle 
Compared to that of a New Vehicle. Please 
be careful when you are advertising a pre-owned 
vehicle and compare the price of that vehicle to 
the price of a new vehicle.  If you decide to use 
this type of advertising, the basis for the 
comparison must be clear and the fact that you 
are comparing the price of a pre-owned vehicle 
to that of a new one must also be very clear.  
This type of advertisement can be tricky.  
 
For instance, are you comparing the cost of the 
pre-owned vehicle to the cost of that specific 
vehicle when it was new? Or are you comparing 
the cost to a newer model year vehicle?  If the 
latter is the case – are the two vehicles exactly 
alike?  Has the manufacturer made any changes 
to the vehicle from one model year to the next? 
While this type of advertising is not prohibited, 
we advise that you use caution and be sure that 
the advertisement is clear and includes all of the 
information the consumer needs in order to 
understand the comparison that is being made. 
 
Advertising a “Buy-Down” Interest Rate 
may be Against the Advertising 
Regulations.  The Advertising Regulations 
state: “Advertisement of finance charges or other 
interest rates shall not be used when there is a 
cost to buy-down said charge or rate which is 
passed on, in whole or in part, to the purchaser.”  
Requiring the purchaser to pay additional money 
to “buy-down” an interest rate could also run 
afoul with the Truth in Lending Requirements if 
the APR does not include the additional money 
needed to receive the special rate. 
 
Do You Own More Than One Dealership?  If 
you do, you may want to consider shifting your 
license renewal dates so that all of your 
dealership licenses are renewed in the same 
month.  In addition, you may want the renewal 
materials for all of your dealerships sent to a 
central location.  The Dealer Board staff would 
be glad to help you get this done - just give us a 
call at 367-1100 and press “4”.  If you are calling 
from outside the Richmond area, you can call us 
toll free at 877-270-0203 and press “4”. 
 

ARE ALL YOUR SALESPERSONS PROPERLY LICENSED?
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WELCOME NEW DEALERS! 
 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board formally welcomes the following new dealers for September & 
October!  Should you have comments, suggestions or questions, please do not hesitate to 
contact the staff of the Dealer Board.  Our telephone and FAX numbers, mailing address and e-
mail address are all listed on Page 2. 
 
 
 

SEPTEMBER 

The Car Store 
3212 Lee Highway 
Arlington, Virginia 22207 

Eastern’s Auto Outlet 
24 Derrick Lane 
Stafford, Virginia 22554 

United Truck Sales & Service 
913 Longfield Road 
Colonial Beach, Virginia 22443 

Capital Finance Corp. 
4125B Portsmouth Boulevard 
Portsmouth, Virginia 23701 

Johnny’s Cars 
34 West 14th Street 
Front Royal, Virginia 23701 

Miche Mel Motors 
315 Maple Street 
Salem, Virginia 24153 

Ramey Automotive, Inc. 
2850 Clinch Street 
Richlands, Virginia 24641 

Premium Auto Sales, Inc. 
6328 East Virginia Beach Boulevard 
Norfolk, Virginia 23502 

Currys Auto Sales 
1703 W. Beverley Street 
Staunton, Virginia 24401 

Goodtime Charlie’s Car & Truck Center 
420 Vaden Drive 
Gretna, Virginia 24557 

Main Street Auto 
612 East Main Street, P.O. Box 608 
Lebanon, Virginia 24266 

Quality Pre-Owned Cars 
474 West Front Street 
Coeburn, Virginia 24230 

Affordable Sales 
2942 W. Main Street 
Salem, Virginia 24153 

Whitten Brothers Dodge 
2833 South Crater Road 
Petersburg, Virginia 23805 

Lakeview Motors 
41 North Main Street 
Chase City, Virginia 23924 

Riddle Honda 
3444 Western Branch Boulevard 
Chesapeake, Virginia 23321 

Crown Motorcar Company, LLC 
1295 Richmond Road 
Charlottesville, Virginia 22911 

Daniel Motor Company, Inc. 
911 S. Cedar Level Road 
Hopewell, Virginia 23860 

Maverick Car Rental Sales 
1123 S. Military Highway 
Chesapeake, Virginia 23320 

Laosa Auto Sales, Inc. 
375-B Williamsburg Road 
Sandston, Virginia 23150 

Ultraline Auto Sales 
5176 Virginia Beach Boulevard 
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462 

JW Auto & Truck Sales 
615 E. Research Road 
Richmond, Virginia 23236 

Mid-Atlantic Waste Systems 
3600 Koppens Way 
Chesapeake, Virginia 23323 
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OCTOBER 
Carport Motors 
3301 Jeff Davis Highway #1 
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22401 

Auto City 
1100 S. Military Highway 
Chesapeake, Virginia 23320 

Modern Auto Parts 
1001 E. Bank Street 
Petersburg, Virginia 23803 

Virginia Truck Center of Richmond, Inc. 
740 S. Military Highway 
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23464 

Xpressway Automart 
799 Graves Mill Road 
Lynchburg, Virginia 24502 

Autovilla At Lake Rodge 
13606 Fowke Lane 
Woodbridge, Virginia 22192 

Blue Ridge Motors 
2106 John Marshall Highway 
Front Royal, Virginia 22630 

Auto, Inc. 
3805 Hull Street 
Richmond, Virginia 23224 

Bluewater Enterprises, Inc. 
3428 South Military Highway 
Chesapeake, Virginia 23323 

Hal Cole Truck & Trailer Sales, Inc. 
11330 Washington Highway, P.O. Box 1676 
Ashland, Virginia 23005 

Tylo Equipment Sales, Inc. 
3701-B Carolina Avenue 
Richmond, Virginia 23222 

First Choice Auto Sales 
11306 Jefferson Avenue 
Newport News, Virginia 23601 

Classic Cars 
5250 Klockner Drive 
Richmond, Virginia 23231 

Doran Motors 
Coach Road, Route 460 
Doran, Virginia 24612 

Al’s Auto Sales 
2810 George Washington Memorial Highway 
Hayes, Virginia 23072 

D & N Auto 
132 Wilburn Valley Road 
Pearisburg, Virginia 24134 

Auto Maxx of Manassas 
8505 A-B Euclid Avenue 
Manassas, Virginia 20110 

Super Cars 
203 West 4th Street 
Salem, Virginia 24153 

B & F Auto Sales 
1907-A Jefferson Davis Highway 
Richmond, Virginia 23224 

Park Place Auto Sales 
1101 E. 26th Street 
Norfolk, Virginia 23504 

American Equipment 
411 Johnson Avenue 
Suffolk, Virginia 23434 

Silver Line 
325 Piedmont Drive, Suite 515 
Danville, Virginia 24540 

Classic Leasing, LLC 
6329 Burleigh Road 
Gloucester, Virginia 23061 

Apex Auto Sales 
12219 Old Washington Highway 
Ashland, Virginia 23005 

The Automotive Connection, Inc. 
5391 Lee Highway 
Atkins, Virginia 24311 

PMG 
8540 Cinderbed Road, #1800 
Newington, Virginia 22122 

Hurricane Motors 
1049 North George Washington Highway 
Chesapeake, Virginia 23323 

Shawn Auto Sales & Service 
127 Fleming Street #B 
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22407 

Trucks-R-Us 
5057 Cleveland Street 
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462 

Madcolt Motors 
2920 Page Street 
Richlands, Virginia 24641 

Dannys Auto Sales 
220 River Street 
Danville, Virginia 24540 

ARE ALL YOUR SALESPERSONS 
PROPERLY LICENSED??? 
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The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board in Partnership with the Virginia Information Providers Network (VIPNet) 
 

PRESENTS… 
 
 
 
 
 

We have made it Faster, Easier and Less Expensive for you to renew your 
license with the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 

 
Take Advantage of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board’s 

Interactive E-Commerce Transaction System 
 

The Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB) has partnered with the Virginia Information Providers Network to 
enable dealers to make dealer license renewals, salesperson license renewals, and place dealer plate, decal, and 
tag orders online.  Dealers may electronically complete and submit all forms to the MVDB as a subscriber to the 
MVDB’s Interactive E-Commerce Transaction System.  The good news is that the MVDB approved a $50 discount 
to those dealers that renew online. 
 
Your Subscription to MVDB Services May Also Include Online Access to Branded Title and 

Other DMV Records 
 
If your dealership is using the MVDB online services, you may also wish to apply for the online Department of Motor 
Vehicle Records Access Information Service.  Dealerships will be able to check drivers’ records for employment 
purposes and complete branded title searches on vehicles, online.   
 

How to Access These Services 
 

In order to utilize this service, dealerships must become Virginia Information Providers Network (VIPNet) subscribers.  
Simply complete the VIPNet Premium Service Subscription Agreement, the MVDB Addendum, and pay the annual 
subscription fee of $50.00.  Also, DMV access requires the completion of the DMV Information Use Application, 
which should be sent with the other service agreement. This application must go through the DMV approval process 
before access will be granted. 

Subscriber access includes: 
Multiple Subscriber Billing Options 

Monthly Invoice-*Requires a $15 monthly minimum 
Monthly Credit Card Transaction 
Monthly Electronic Check Transaction 

Online Billing and Account Information 
Help Desk Services 
Access to Additional VIPNet Premium Services 

DMV Online Driver and Motor Vehicle Record Requests 
DGIF Boat Registration Database Search 
SoC Online Service of Process 
Lobbyist-In-A-Box Legislative Tracking System 
DHRM Online State Employment Verification and Salary Information 

 
For more information, visit the “Online Services” section of the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board’s website at www.mvdb.vipnet.org.  Or contact VIPNet Customer Service at 
(804)786-3794 or at customerservice@vipnet.org. 
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ATTENTION ALL DEALERS: 
Inside this issue, please read about the following: 
 
 

1. DISCOUNTS IMPLEMENTED 
2. HOLIDAY SCHEDULE 
3. GOOD NEWS!! 
4. CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
5. CURBSTONING REPORT 
6. COURT CASE 
7. ACTIONS 
8. REMINDERS & USEFUL TIPS 
9. ON-LINE RENEWALS 
10. WELCOME NEW DEALERS 
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