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Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
Mission Statement

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will
administer sections of the
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle
Dealer Laws and regulations as
charged; while providing a high level
of customer service for the
automotive consumer and dealer
community.
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Transportation Authority Fees

Effective January 1, 2008, statutory fees collected by dealers and
remitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will include new
regional transportation fees for the Northern Virginia Transportation
Authority (NVTA) enacted by the 2007 General Assembly to support
regional highway and transit improvements. The NVTA fees are non-
refundable and include:

1. A $10 Annual License Fee, collected in conjunction with the
state vehicle registration fee, for vehicles garaged in
jurisdictions encompassed within the NVTA region (See the
following information for a list of these cities and counties.);
and

2. An Initial 1% Fee, equivalent to one percent of the vehicle’s
value, imposed at the time a vehicle is initially registered
within an NVTA locality.

Any dealer processing titling and registration applications for
vehicles sold January 1, 2008 and after, when the purchased vehicle
will be garaged in one of the NVTA participating localities, is required
to collect the additional $10 Annual License Fee (unless the customer is
transferring tags) and the Initial 1% Fee. The buyer’s order must list
separately the amount collected for both of these NVTA fees, and the
additional fees must be remitted to DMV or a DMV Select with the
original application paperwork. If the fees are not collected and
remitted in full, DMV or its agent will not accept the application for
processing.

If you are currently an online dealer using either CVR or TriVin, DMV
will automatically calculate all fees, including the additional NVTA $10
Annual License Fee and Initial 1% Fee due when the vehicle is first
titled and registered.

If you are not an online dealer, you must add the NVTA $10 Annual
License Fee and Initial 1% Fee to the sums collected from your
customer. The Initial 1% Fee is based on the sale price of the vehicle,
the same value that is used to calculate the state motor vehicle sales
and use tax.

(Continued on page 3)




Calendar of Events

All Meetings held at DMV
Headquarters
2300 W. Broad Street, Room
702 Richmond, VA

Monday, January 14, 2008
Time: 8:30 a.m.

Dealer Practices Committee
Meeting

Monday, January 14, 2008
Time: Immediately following
Dealer Practices

Licensing Committee Meeting

Monday, January 14, 2008
Time:  9:30 a.m.
Advertising Committee Meeting

Monday, January 14, 2008
Time: Immediately following
Advertising

Transaction Recovery Fund
Committee Meeting

Monday, January 14, 2008
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Full Board Meeting

NOTE: Meetings may begin
later, but not earlier
than scheduled.
Meeting end times
are approximate.

Governor Kaine Announces
Auto Supplier Expansion

Recently, Governor Timothy M. Kaine announced that
International Automotive Components Group North America Inc. (IAC), a
leading supplier of automotive interior and exterior systems and
components, will invest $4 million to increase business at its facilities
in Russell and Shenandoah Counties. It is anticipated that nearly 150
new jobs will be created by the expansion. Virginia successfully
competed with Ohio and Tennessee for the project.

International Automotive Components Group is a leading global
supplier of automotive components and systems, including interior and
exterior trim and structural and functional applications. IAC's annual
global revenue now exceeds $5.2 billion. International Automotive
Components Group operates manufacturing facilities in 16 countries
with more than 27,000 employees.

IAC includes the former interior systems division of Lear
Corporation, and was formed April 1 of this year as a joint venture
between WL Ross & Co. LLC, Franklin Mutual Advisors LLC and Lear
Corporation.

The Virginia Economic Development Partnership worked with
Russell County and Shenandoah County to secure the project for
Virginia. Governor Kaine approved $50,000 from the Governor’s
Opportunity Fund to assist Shenandoah County with their project. Both
localities will receive training and retraining assistance through the
Virginia Department of Business Assistance’s Workforce Services Jobs
Investment Program.

“This is another great announcement for the Commonwealth of Virginia
and especially Russell and Shenandoah Counties,” said Harry
Rutherford, chairman of the Russell County Industrial Development
Authority. “International Automotive Components has been a very
strong citizen of Russell County and we look forward to continued
success and a very prosperous future for IAC. The automotive industry
has had some tough times over the past few years and it is great to be
on the upswing with the announcement of this expansion. | would like
to express the appreciation of the citizens of Russell County for all
involved in this expansion.”

“Shenandoah County is extremely pleased that IAC has selected
the Shenandoah County facility for expansion,” said Shenandoah County
Board Chairman Dick Neese. “This facility has been a major employer in
Shenandoah County for many years and is a staple for our economy.
Shenandoah County is certainly appreciative of the cooperative effort
on behalf of the Virginia Economic Development Partnership and the
Governor in making this expansion occur.”




HOLIDAY HOURS Transportation Authority Fees

(Continued from page 1)

In observance of the upcoming
holidays, all state agencies,
including the Dealer Board,
will be closed on the following
dates:

The Initial 1% fee must be listed separately on the buyer’s order
and may not be combined with the 3% sales and use tax. The 1% fee
should be labeled as either “NVTA 1% Initial Vehicle Registration Fee”
or simply “NVTA 1% Fee”. The $10 Annual License Fee must also be
listed separately on the buyer’s order and may not be combined with
the statewide registration fee. This $10 fee should be labeled “NVTA

CHRISTMAS Annual License fee”.

December 24, 2007

December 25, 2007 If the vehicle purchaser chooses to register a vehicle for two years,

the NVTA $10 Annual License Fee must be doubled and an additional

NEW YEARS $20 must be collected from the purchaser. The NVTA Initial 1% Fee is
December 31, 2007 only a one-time fee and, thus, should not be doubled. DMV has
January 1, 2008 revised the Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA
17A) to reflect itemization of these fees in the 'DMV Use Only' section.
LEE-JACKSON DAY A copy of the revised VSA 17A is included with this mailing. The
January 18, 2008 revised application can also be printed from DMV’s WEB site

(www.dmvnow.com) or from the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board’s WEB
MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY  site (www.mvdb.virginia.gov).
January 21 2008

The localities encompassed in the NVTA include the counties of
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William, the cities of
Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas and Manassas Park and
the towns of Clifton, Dumfries, Hamilton, Haymarket, Herndon,
Hillsborough, Leesburg, Lovettsville, Middleburg, Occoquan,
Purceville, Quantico, Round Hill and Vienna.

Collection of the NVTA regional transportation fees in conjunction
with the existing vehicle registration and titling process is an efficient
collection approach that limits inconvenience for your customers by

%%5 s b
nabane Pu '% % allowing them to make one payment for all related statutory fees. It
Bagﬂns ﬂl‘ B“ﬂus also provides an opportunity for the fees to be included with any

financing associated with the vehicle purchase.

To assist you in collecting the appropriate fees DMV is developing
an on line fee calculator that will be available January 1, 2008. This
program will be available via the Internet and accessible to all of your

Check-out our refreshed WEB staff, including your financial staff.
site at www.mvdb.virginia.gov.

The WEB site has a new look to
go along with our new logo. This
issue of Dealer Talk is also
sporting a new look. Please let
us know how you like our new
“looks” and our new logo.

NEW AT THE DEALER BOARD

Thank you for your cooperation in implementing this important
legislative initiative. If you or your customers would like more
information about the state's transportation funding legislation, please
visit www.hb3202.virginia.gov.




HELPFUL TIP #1

Sales Events: If you are thinking
about contracting with a marketing
firm to bring a “sales event” to your
dealership . . . read on: Virginia
Code Section 46.2-1537 states in
part “It shall be unlawful for any
motor vehicle dealer . . . to pay, or
cause to be paid, any commission or
compensation in any form
whatsoever to any person in
connection with the sale of a motor
vehicle, unless the person is duly
licensed as a salesperson employed
by the dealer.” This law has two
very important implications if you
are hiring a marketing firm to help
you with a sale.

The first implication is how you pay
the firm for the services they
provide. Payment must not be
based on sales. You may pay the
firm a set fee for providing services
such as mailers; scripts and copy for
advertisements; and other materials
and “props” used at the dealership
to promote the sale.

The second implication applies to
marketing firms that provide sales
staff for the duration of the sales
event. Just like your regular sales
staff, the sales staff provided by the
marketing firm must be properly
licensed to your dealership. This
includes becoming certified by
passing the test administered at all
DMV Customer Service Centers and
submitting applications and fees to
the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board.
Once a license is issued by the
Board, the salespersons can go to
work.

Lastly, the law quoted above states
that salespersons must be employed
by the dealer. This means that
while these salespersons are
working at you dealership, they
must be your employees and their
salary/commission is paid to them
by the dealer. They may not be
paid as an ‘independent contractor”
(IRS Form 1099). By definition, an
independent contractor is not an
employee.

Criminal History Reports

It has been just over one year since the Motor Vehicle Dealer
Board formed a partnership with ScreeningOne to run criminal
history background reports on applicants for a salesperson’s
license. This nationwide background check not only searches for
criminal records, but it also searches registered sex offender lists
and the National OFAC (Terrorist) list.

Since many dealerships already administer their own
criminal background screening, we are pleased to announce an
initiative that will improve the process for both dealers and the
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board.

Starting December 1, 2007, dealerships will have the option
to submit their own ScreeningOne background reports with the
application for a sales license. Submitting a recent report that you
have run will reduce the turnaround time on sales licenses. It will
also give you the opportunity to make hiring decisions before you
take additional steps and incur additional costs related to the
hiring process on applicants that you believe are not up to your
standards and who may not meet board requirements. Dealerships
will have access to exclusive VA Dealer Board rates from
ScreeningOne that can be used for all departments within the
dealership. Currently, only ScreeningOne criminal background
reports will be accepted by the Board.

ScreeningOne and the MVDB are working to enhance the
process in the near future that will eliminate the need for the
dealer to submit the criminal history results to the Board with the
salesperson’s application. Rather, Board staff will be able to view
the report on-line, thereby eliminating the need for the dealership
to mail it to the Board.

If you are already a ScreeningOne customer, you can begin
utilizing this program immediately. If you are interested in signing-
up with ScreeningOne so that you too will be able to run your own
criminal background checks and submit them to the MVDB with a
salesperson’s application, contact Paul Craddock at ScreeningOne
(888 327-6511 x109 or pcraddock@ScreeningOne.com or
WWWw.screeningone.com)




HELPFUL TIP #2

Dealer Talk: We produce six
issues of Dealer Talk each
year and we trust that you
find the information included
in this newsletter to be
helpful. If you rely on
receiving Dealer Talk by mail -
you are missing out on most of
the issues as we only mail a
few issues per year. The
other issues are distributed by
email. In order to receive
your copy by email, you must
sign-up for e-mail

notification. To do this,
simply, go to our WEB site at
www.mvdb.virginia.gov and
from the home page under
“What’s New”, “click” on
“Subscribe to Our E-Mail List”.
Back issues of Dealer Talk can
also be found on our WEB site
under “Dealer and
Salesperson” link. Please
note that we do not share
your email addresses with

anyone else. There is no limit on may 25, 2007, a consumer was awarded a judgment in the Circuit

as to how many individuals in  Court of Rockingham County in the amount of $47,438.78 against

your dealership can sign-up Freedom Motors. Freedom Motors was owned and operated by Mark A.

and you may sign-up from Puckett and has been out of business since November of 2006. After

your dealership or from home. careful consideration of the facts the Board voted to authorize a payment
in the amount of $20,000, the maximum allowed by law.

BARBARA HILL RETIRES!!

Board Actions

Fairfax Dealer: This dealer was cited several times for not
maintaining business hours. More recently, evidence of record
keeping problems and unlicensed salespersons surfaced. Board
staff concluded that one-on-one educational efforts and written
warnings were not effective in fixing deficiencies. Therefore, an
informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address the
alleged problems. Based on the evidence and the hearing officer’s
recommendation, the Board voted to assess a $2,000 civil penalty
on this dealer. The Board also voted to require the dealer-
operator/owner of the business to successfully complete the
dealer-operator course.

Fairfax Dealer: In the course of conducting a random inspection, a
Board field representative discovered that five out of the seven
individuals employed at this dealership as salespersons and were
not licensed. On July 18, 2007, an informal fact-finding conference
was conducted to address the alleged violation of Virginia Code
Section 46.2-1537 (Allowing the sale of vehicles by an unlicensed
individual and also compensating them). After reviewing all of the
evidence the Board voted to assess a $2,000 civil penalty.

Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund: At the November
Board meeting, the Transaction Recovery Fund Committee and the
Board approved the following claim:

Many of you know Barbara Hill (AKA NOTICE

“Miss Barbara”) from her 36 years as

a dedicated state employee. The Board has formed a special Task Force to explore the concept of
Barbara worked in DMV Dealer mandatory, periodic education for independent dealer-operators.

Services before moving to the Motor  Towards that end, the Board will soon publish a “Notice of Intended
Vehicle Dealer Board in 1995 - the ooy 1atory Action” (NOIRA) in the Virginia Register of Regulations. If you
year the Board was created. are interested in receiving notices of future meetings of this task Force or
We will all miss Barbara very much. have any comments or suggestions concerning this issue, please contact
We will especially miss her great Mr. Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201
smile and laugh and dedication to W. Broad St., Suite 104, Richmond, Virginia 23220; or by email at

her work. We all wish Barbara good  Bruce.gould@mvdb.virginia.gov; or by Fax at (804) 367-1053.

luck and good health in her
retirement.




Dealer-Operator Course

The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association (VIADA)
have teamed up to present a two-day Dealer-Operator course. The following is a list of up-coming classes. The
list is regularly updated on our WEB site at http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/licensingprocess.htm.

2007

December 18 & 19 - Lord Fairfax Community College, Fauquier Campus, Warrenton
Contact: Bill Pence; 540-868-7061; www.lfccworkforce.com

2008

January 8 & 9 - Tidewater Community College, Norfolk
Contact: Registration; 757-822-1234; www.tcc.edu/wd

January 22 & 23 - Paul D. Camp Community College, Franklin
Contact: Renee Brown; 757-569-6050; www.pc.vccs.edu/workforce

February 5 & 6 - Northern Virginia Community College, Reston
Contact: Claire Wynn; 703-450-2552 or 2552; www.nvcc.edu

February 19 & 20 - Piedmont Community College, Charlottesville
Contact: Maggie Myers; 434-961-5495; www.pvcc.edu

March 4 & 5 - Virginia Western Community College, Roanoke
Contact: Anne Koon; 540-767-6131; www.virginiawestern.edu

March12 & 13 - Central Virginia Community College, Lynchburg
Contact: Twila DeMasters; 434-832-7607; www.cvcc.vces.edu

March 18 & 19 - Germana Community College, Fredericksburg
Contact: Susan Brown; 540-891-3012; www.germanna.edu




