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NOTE:  We make every effort to 
ensure information in Dealer Talk is 
accurate, but it is not a substitute 
for legal advice. 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 

Mission Statement 
 
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 
administer sections of the 
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Laws and regulations as charged; while 
providing a high level of customer 
service for the automotive consumer 
and dealer community. 
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PRINT ON DEMAND  
 

 

Virginia dealers now have the ability to print temporary 
tags from their own printers.  DMV has partnered with 
Computerized Vehicle Registration (CVR) and triVIN to offer 
software that allows dealers to electronically produce and 
print temporary tags for customers.   

 
Using software, you can send DMV vehicle information 
including the year, make, model, color and vehicle 
identification number (VIN).  The dealer will also report 
owner information including name, address, customer 
number, date the vehicle was sold and indicate whether 
the vehicle will be titled in Virginia or in another state.   

 
Once all necessary information is entered, the software 
will produce a unique temporary tag number and expiration 
date for the vehicle.  The temporary tag will print on white 
8 ½” x 11” paper from your printer.  The tag attaches to 
the vehicle via a plastic sleeve that DMV will provide.  The 
vehicle information, including your dealer’s name, will 
appear on the tags.  A temporary registration card will 
print on the same sheet and should be cut off for the 
customer to place in the vehicle.   

 
DMV will store the vehicle information and the temporary 
tag’s expiration date in its records.  Law enforcement can 
access this information through the Virginia Criminal 
Information Network (VCIN).   
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Calendar of Events 
 

All Meetings held at DMV 
Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 
702  Richmond, VA 

 
 
Monday, January 11, 2010 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 11, 2010 
Time:  Immediately following 
Dealer Practices 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 11, 2010 
Time:  Immediately following 
Licensing 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 11, 2010 
Time: Immediately following 
Advertising 
Transaction Recovery Fund 
Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, January 11, 2010 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, 
 but not earlier than  
 scheduled. 

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
 
Enaytullah Babe and Titan Motors (Formal Hearing) 
Previously this dealer paid civil penalties of $250 and $1,000 for 
failing to maintain posted business hours.  As this problem 
continued, a $3,000 civil penalty was assessed by the executive 
director.  Mr. Babe appealed this decision and on June 1, 2009, an 
informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address not only 
the failure to maintain hours, but also the alleged violation(s) of VA 
Code Sections 46.2-1515 (failure to display current dealer 
certificate), 46.2-1516 (Supplemental sales location), 46.2-1529 
(Failure to maintain all dealer required records), 46.2-1550 (permit 
the illegal use of dealer’s plates) and 46.2-1575(2) failure to 
comply with a written warning and (18) (failure to maintain liability 
insurance).  At the July 13, 2009 Dealer Board Meeting, a resolution 
was adopted to assess a civil penalty of $1,000 for violations of the 
above said Code Sections. Also, the Board suspended all licenses 
and certificates issued by the Board to Mr. Enaytullah Babe until 
what time Mr. Babe had a satisfactory inspection by a Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board Field Representative.  On August 3, 2009, Mr. 
Babe appealed the Board’s decision and requested a formal 
hearing.  On September 25, 2009, a formal hearing was conducted 
to address the above alleged violations.  Based on the information 
provided at the hearing, the hearing officer recommended, and the 
Board agreed, to assess a $2,000.00 civil penalty. 

 
Anthony M. Tedesco, Salesperson (Formal Hearing) In December 
of 2008, it came to the attention of the Board staff that Mr. 
Tedesco had been convicted of a crime related to the dealer 
business.  An informal fact finding conference was held on February 
18, 2009, to address the alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 
46.2-1575 (1) having made a material misstatement or omission in 
an application for a license; (4) defrauding any other person in the 
conduct of the licensee’s business; (6) having used deceptive acts 
or practices; and (8) having been convicted any fraudulent act in 
connection with the business of selling vehicles.  Under the 
authority granted by the Board to the executive director, the 
executive director assessed a $500 civil penalty and revoked Mr. 
Tedesco’s license.   Mr. Tedesco appealed and requested a formal 
hearing. On October 17, 2009, a formal hearing was conducted to 
address the above alleged violations. Based on the information 
provided at the hearing, the Board assessed a civil penalty of 
$750.00 and determined that Mr. Tedesco should not have a 
salespersons license. 
 

 
 
 
 

 
(Continued on page 3) 
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HOLIDAYS HOURS 
 
In observance of the upcoming 
holidays, all state agencies, 
including the Dealer Board, will 
be closed on the following dates: 

    

CHRISTMAS  
December 24, 2009 
December 25, 2009 

 

NEW YEARS 
January 1, 2010 

 

LEE-JACKSON DAY 
January 15, 2010 

 

MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY 
January 18, 2010 

 

    

CORRECTION 
 
In the August Issue of Dealer Talk, 
we reported that Governor Kaine 
appointed T.K. Hughes to the Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board.  In the article 
we incorrectly reported that T.K. 
Hughes Auto Sales was established in 
November of 1983.  It was actually 
established in October of 1975.  We 
apologize for the error. 

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
(Continued from page 2) 

 
Karen D. Munns and Valley View Motors.  At its September Board meeting 
the Board considered the results of an informal fact-finding conference for 
this dealer in reference to alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 46.2-1533 
(failure to maintain posted business hours) and 46.2-1575(2) (failure to 
comply subsequent to receipt of a written warning/willful failure to comply). 
Based on the recommendation of the hearing officer, the Board determined 
that Ms. Munns must successfully complete the Dealer-Operator Course by 
November 14, 2009.  If Ms. Munns does not successfully complete the course 
within that time frame, her license would be suspended.  Ms Munns appeared 
at the November meeting and requested that the Board reconsider the 
decision they made in September.  After much discussion, the Board decided 
that Ms. Munns should pay a $50 civil penalty. 
 

DEALER-OPERATOR 
RECERTIFICATION REGULATIONS 

 
In previous issues of Dealer Talk, we reported that the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board was working on proposed regulations related to mandatory, continuing 
education for independent dealer-operators.   
 
Three public hearings on the proposal have been held.  Input we received 
from the hearings and in writing; from the Department of Planning and 
Budget; and the Governor’s Office have resulted in proposed regulations that 
would require anyone certified as an independent dealer-operator to 
recertify every three years. 
 
In order to recertify, an independent dealer-operator would either complete 
a course of study or pass an exam.  The proposed regulations are posted on 
the Board’s WEB site.  Go to www.mvdb.virginia.gov and under “What’s Hot” 
click on one of the “Proposed Independent Dealer Operator Regulations” 
links. 
 
The Board will hold a Public Hearing to receive comments on the proposed 
regulations on January 27, 2010 at 10:00 in the morning.  The Hearing will be 
held at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) headquarters building, 2300 
West Broad Street, 23220; Room 119.  We invite you to attend. 
 

DEALER TAGS 
 

We suggest that you periodically perform an inventory of your dealer tags.  
This is especially important for dealers that have a large number of tags.  
Reporting lost or missing tags is important so that we may “deactivate” them 
in the system. You are responsible for these tags as long as they remain 
active.  You should also perform an inventory before you renew your dealer 
tags.  We send you a “bill” at the time of renewal that includes the 
registration fee for each active dealer tag. We have had dealers contact us 
after they have paid their renewal fees and received their decals only to 
discover that tags are missing and as a result they have overpaid their 
renewal fees. 
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ADVERTISED PRICE 
 
At the November Board meeting the 
Advertising Committee reviewed 
several advertisements where the 
dealer’s advertised price was not the 
actual price the consumer would pay.  
The advertised price was the price the 
consumer would pay in addition to a 
specific cash down payment or trade-
in allowance.  A disclaimer at the 
bottom of the page or near the 
advertised price in much smaller print 
revealed the amount of cash down or 
value of a trade-in required in order 
obtain the vehicle at the advertised 
price. 
 
 The committee concluded that 
this type of advertising is not in 
compliance with Virginia law and 
regulations. 
 

The advertised price of a 
motor vehicle is the price a consumer 
would pay excluding tax, title and 
registration fees; processing fee and 
freight (when applicable).  An 
advertisement may not employ a 
disclaimer to reveal special conditions 
or criteria necessary in order to 
purchase the vehicle at the advertised 
price. 

 
An advertised price that excludes a 
down payment or trade-in credit, even 
if the down payment or trade-in credit 
is disclosed elsewhere, is not 
permitted by Virginia law and 
regulations. 
 
An advertised price that takes into 
account incentives or rebates can be 
advertised provided the applicable 
incentives and rebates are clear and 
conspicuous.  We recommend 
disclosing incentive and rebate 
information adjacent to the 
advertised price.  This method 
minimizes potential misunderstands 
and the chances that your 
advertisement might be considered 
“deceptive.” 

PRINT ON DEMAND  
Continued from page 1 

 
The system will track the number of temporary tags issued to 
each dealer on a monthly basis.  Dealers will pay $2 for each set 
of temporary tags issued and can issue reprints at no additional 
charge.  The payments will be made to DMV through the vendor. 
 
Benefits to dealers include: 
 

• No inventory to track 
• No requirement to obtain DMV permission to purchase or 

issue subsequent sets 
• No increase in cost 
• Ability to inquire on a tag number and get owner name, 

address, vehicle description, as well as issue expiration 
dates 

• Real-time update to DMV’s records 
• No need to order or stock temporary tags 
• No unauthorized use of temporary tags 
• Quality product tested in extreme weather conditions in 

Arizona, Florida and Montana 
• Both regular and motorcycle sizes 
• Ability to recall transactions 
• Ability of dealership to display corporate logo 
 

This new customer-friendly service was created with dealer and 
law enforcement input to ensure your business needs are met.   
 
This service is now available through CVR and will be available 
through triVIN in early 2010. It may be available through other 
vendors later in 2010.  Contact Scott O’Laughlin with CVR at 
solaughlin@cvrreg.com or (919) 753-8008 or Mike Audette with 
triVIN at maudette@trivininc.com or (860) 448-3177 ext. 4645. 
 
If you would like to participate in the Print on Demand 
Temporary Tags program, you should begin depleting your 
existing stock of cardboard temporary tags.  Refunds will only 
be given for unopened boxes of 50 plates.     
 
For more information, visit 
www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/commercial/dealer/pod_intro.a
sp or contact the Print on Demand Help Desk at (804) 367-1474 
or podtemptag@dmv.virginia.gov.  
 

 



 5 

 

Dealer-Operator Course 
 
The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association (VIADA) have 
teamed up to present a two-day Dealer-Operator course. The following is a list of up-coming classes. The list is regularly 
updated on our WEB site at http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/licensingprocess.htm. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL PROSPECTIVE DEALERS  

The dealer-operator of any new independent motor vehicle dealership is required to successfully complete a 
course of study before they will be allowed to take the independent dealer-operator qualification test at any DMV 
Customer Service Center.  “Grandfathered” dealer-operators, title clerks and salespersons are encouraged to take 
the course as well. 

Course Schedule 
2010 
 
January 5 & 6 - Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg 
Contact: Susan Brown; 540-891-3012; www.gcc.vccs.edu/workforce   
 
January 19 & 20 – New River Community College, Dublin 
Contact: Kathy Ridpath at 540-674-3633; www.nr.edu/workforce/ 
 
February 9 & 10 – Northern Virginia Community College, Reston 
Contact: Claire Wynn; 703-450-2551; www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 
 
February 23 & 24 - Paul D. Camp Community College, Franklin 
Contact: Renee Brown; 757-569-6050, www.pdc.edu/workforce-development 
 
March 9 & 10 - Lord Fairfax Community College, Middletown 
Contact: Registration; 540-868-7021; www.lfccworkforce.com 
 
March 23 & 24 - Community College Workforce Alliance at J. Sargeant Reynolds - Community College, North Run 
Campus, Henrico, County Contact: Sandy Jones; 804-523-2292; www.ccwa.vccs.edu 
 
April 6 & 7 - Blue Ridge Community College, Weyers Cave  
Contact: Lisa or Sandy; 540-453-2215; www.brcc.edu 
 
April 20 & 21 - Virginia Western Community College, Roanoke 
Contact: Tina Trudeau; 540-857-6676; www.virginiawestern.edu 
 
May 4 & 5 – Thomas Nelson Community College, Hampton 
Contact: WTCE Customer Service; 757-825-2937; www.tncc.edu 
 
May 19 & 19 - Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg 
Contact: Susan Brown; 540-891-3012; www.gcc.vccs.edu/workforce   
 
June 8 & 9 - Danville Community College, Danville 
Contact: Melissa Cross; 434-797-6437; www.dcc.vccs.edu/workforce 
 
Registration materials and information are available from each of the Community Colleges’ WEB site or by calling the 
individual college. 
 
The cost is $325 if you register at least two weeks prior to the date of the course.  The fee is $375 after that date.  
 

 


