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From the Department of Motor Vehicles:

PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RELIEF ACT
COMPLIANCE GUIDELINES

Beginning in January 2003, all vehicles that are registered in the Commonwealth of Virginia are required to
have their use indicated as either personal or business on the appropriate Department of Motor Vehicle
forms. The following are points that dealers need to be aware of when completing vehicle transactions and
answering customers’ questions.

On the VSA-17A, Application for Certificate of Title and Registration, and the VSA-14, vehicle renewal form,
the dealer must check whether the vehicle is being used for personal or business use, based on the
customer’s decision.

What is the Personal Property Tax Relief Act?

The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 provides tax relief for passenger cars, motorcycles, and pickup
or panel trucks having a registered gross weight of less than 7,501 pounds.

To qualify, a vehicle must:

e Be owned by an individual or leased by an individual under a contract requiring the individual to pay
personal property tax, and
e Be used less than 50% for business purposes.

Motor homes, trailers and farm-use vehicles do not qualify for tax relief.

(continued on Page 3)
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BOARD ACTIONS

Dealer Practices: After numerous unsatisfactory
inspections, an informal fact-finding conference was
convened for Mr. Altaf H. Shah, the owner of Sports
Car Center in Manassas. After reviewing the
evidence and the hearing officer’s report, the Board
voted to assess a $4,000 civil penalty and suspend
for 90 days all licenses issued by the Board to Mr.
Shah for numerous on-going violations of record-
keeping requirements; failure to post a list of
salespersons as required and failing to comply with a
written warning. The Board determined that the on-
going problems were willful. Mr. Shah will have 33
days to appeal the decision if he so desires.

All licenses and certificates issued to Mr. Gary
Nunnally, owner of Gary Nunnally Car Sales in
Midlothian were suspended for 90 days and a $1,000
civil penalty was assessed by the Board for on-going
record-keeping problems, failure to post a list of
salespersons as required and for failing to comply
with a written warning. The Board determined that
the on-going problems were willful. Mr. Nunnally will
have 33 days to appeal the decision if he so desires.

An informal fact finding conference was convened for
Mr. Walter B. Wilson, owner of Armistead, Inc. in
Hampton as a result of unsatisfactory inspections
dating back to early 1998. The inspections showed
that there were on-going violations of record-keeping
requirements, not maintaining posted hours, failing to
timely forward documents to DMV, failing to post a list
of salespersons as required and failing to comply with
a written warning. The Board determined that the on-
going problems were willful. Based on the hearing
officer’s report, all licenses and certificates issued by
the Board to Mr. Wilson were revoked. Mr. Wilson

appealed that decision and a formal hearing was held.

At the January meeting, the Board reviewed the
evidence and the hearing officer’s report of the formal
hearing and determined that a $3,000 civil penalty
should be levied and all of Mr. Wilson’s licenses and
certificates should be suspended for 90 days. Mr.
Wilson can appeal this decision to the circuit court.

Dealer Advertising: The Board assessed a Virginia
Beach Dealer civil penalties totaling $1,000 for
repeated violations of the Truth in Lending
requirements and for not fully identifying the year,
make and model of a motor vehicle in an
advertisement that included the price of the vehicle
being advertised.
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in Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute
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Calendar of Events
All Meetings held at DMV Headquarters
2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702
Richmond, VA

Monday, March 8, 2004
Time: 8:30 a.m.
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting

Monday, March 8, 2004
Time: Immediately following Dealer Practices
Licensing Committee Meeting

Monday, March 8, 2004
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Advertising Committee Meeting

Monday, March 8, 2004
Time: Immediately following Advertising
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting

Monday, March 8, 2004
Time: 10:00 a.m.

Full Board Meeting
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not
earlier than scheduled. Meeting
end times are approximate.
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From the Department of Motor Vehicles:

PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX
RELIEF ACT
COMPLIANCE GUIDELINES

(Continued from page 1)

Does a vehicle qualify?

If the answer is yes to any of the following questions, the
vehicle is considered by state law to have a business use and
does NOT qualify for personal property tax relief.

e Is more than 50% of the vehicle’s annual mileage used as
a business expense for federal income tax purposes OR
reimbursed by employer?

e Is more than 50% of the depreciation associated with the
vehicle deducted as a business expense for federal
income tax?

e Is the cost of the vehicle expensed pursuant to Section
179 of the Internal Revenue Service Code?

e If the vehicle is leased by an individual, does the leasing
company pay the tax without reimbursement from the
individual?

NOTE: If the use of the vehicle has changed since the last
renewal, please make sure that the change is indicated.

NOTES

eBay Motors: Dealer Board chair, D.B. Smit has appointed a
work group to examine eBay Motors’ business plan as it
relates to Virginia law. Specifically, Code Section 46.2-1537
states in part that dealers may not “. . . directly or indirectly,
solicit the sale of a motor vehicle through a pecuniarily
interested person, or to pay, or cause to be paid, any
commission or compensation in any form whatsoever to any
person in connection with the sale of a motor vehicle, unless
the person is duly licensed as a salesperson employed by the
dealer.” If you subscribe to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board’s
electronic notification system, you will receive a notice listing
the date time and place for meetings of this work group.

Legislation: As of this date (February 4, 2004) there is no
legislation before the General Assembly that will have a
significant impact on the Dealer Board and our operations.
There are a number of bills being considered that my have an
impact on dealers. A comprehensive listing will be included in
the next edition of Dealer Talk.

Independent Contractors: This is a reminder that
salespersons may not be independent contractors and that it is
against the law to “rent” dealer tags. If an individual(s)
(Including salespersons licensed in the name of your
dealership) is paying you in connection with the sale of a motor
vehicle, that could be considered “renting” dealer plates and it
is against the law.

N OT E s (continued)

Temp Tags: It has been brought to the attention of the Motor
Vehicle Dealer Board and DMV that some dealers are abusing
the privilege of being able to purchase 30-day tags. Itis
important that you safeguard these plates and that you take
measures to prevent your employees and others from buying
these plates for resale.

Salesperson License Number: Beginning on July 1, 2003
DMV, per legislation adopted by the 2003 General Assembly,
discontinued the practice of including a driver’s social security
number on the face of the driver’s license. Beginning on that
date, drivers are to be assigned a “T” number. This includes
anyone renewing their drivers’ license after July 1, 2003. Prior
to July 1, 2003, showing a “T” number rather that the social
security number was at the customer’s option.

If you check your salesperson’s license, you will see a four
digit “Customer Number”. Prior to July 1, 2003, the customer
number was the last four digits of your social security number.
Sometimes a fifth number was added in the event someone
else had the same last four digits in their social security
number.

Beginning on July 1, 2003, all new salesperson licenses
include the “T” number in the “Customer Number” area of the
license.

Did You Know . ..

That, for 2003, the staff of the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
consistently process over 99% of all “clean” (No Criminal
History Reported) applications for a salesperson’s license
within 5 business days of receiving the application?

In 2003, Dealer Board staff responded to 97% of all emails
received through our WEB site within three business days of
receiving the email?

In 2003, the salesperson’s test was taken 6,917 times at DMV
Customer Service Centers. That's 576 tests administered and
taken each month! The “pass” rate was 84 percent.

The dealer-operator test was taken 614 times in 2003 with a 77
percent “pass” rate?

Rate MVDB Services...Online!

The MVDB takes pleasure in announcing it's new online dealer
survey! Although the survey was initially focused toward "new"
motor vehicle dealers, we invite all motor vehicle dealers to
provide us with feedback regarding the services we provide!

So...let us know how we're doing! It's quick and easy! Simply
go to our website at www.mvdb.vipnet.org/home.html and click
on the New Dealer Survey button. Fill out the survey--add
comments if you'd like--and click submit. You're done!

Or, you can just click on the link below:

New Dealer Survey
http://mvdb.dreamkey.com/mvdb29 2002-09.asp
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