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DISCOUNT LICENSES
Soon you will be able to receive a discount in your licensing fee if you renew for two years and/or if you
renew on-line.  At it’s May meeting, the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board voted to implement a discount
incentive program to start sometime after July 1, 2001.

Here is how it will work: If you choose to renew your dealer licenses for two years, the fee will be
discounted by $25.  The current single year dealer license fee is $200.  With implementation of the
discount, you will pay $375 for two years.  Not only will you be saving money, but you will also have the
convenience of only needing to renew your license every other year.

The second discount that will be offered by the Dealer Board will be to those dealers who choose to
renew their licenses on-line.  In the last issue of Dealer Talk there was an article about our partnership
with Virginia Interactive to enable you to conduct nearly all of your transactions with the Board on-line.  If
you do renew on-line, you will receive a $50 discount off of the $200 licensing fee.

Also, dealers may electronically complete and submit all forms to the MVDB as a subscriber to the MVDB’s
interactive services.   Subscribing dealers will be allowed to pay online for all of their online MVDB
transactions.

(Continued on page 3)
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LEGISLATIVE BRIEF

In the last issue of Dealer Talk, we reported on several bills of
interest to dealers that had been adopted by the General
Assembly and signed by the Governor.  In that article we noted
that there were additional bills that had been adopted by the
General Assembly and were awaiting the Governor’s signature.
Below is that list.  We thank the Virginia Automobile Dealers
Association (VADA) for allowing us to reprint their summaries of
each of these bills.  All are effective as of July 1, 2001.

Financing: Prohibits a manufacturer from conditioning the
distribution of leads on the dealer’s acceptance of financing
arranged by the manufacturer. Also expands the current
prohibition against coercion to place retail installment sales
contracts with a captive finance company to leases as well.

Waivers: Prohibits motor vehicle manufacturers, factory
branches, distributors, distributor branches, or subsidiaries from
requiring any motor vehicle dealer to waive any substantive or
procedural rights afforded him by Virginia law.  The bill’s
provision, however, does not apply to good faith settlement of
disputes.

Brokers: Provides that motor vehicle dealers shall not be
charged back or otherwise liable for sales incentives or charges
related to motor vehicles sold by them to purchasers and
subsequently resold, provided that such dealers can demonstrate
that they exercised due diligence and that the sales were made
in good faith and without knowledge of any intention to resell
the motor vehicle.

Performance Standards: Requires that any performance
standard or program that is used by a manufacturer or
distributor for measuring dealership performance and may have
a material effect on a dealer, and the application of any such
standards or program by a manufacturer or distributor, be fair,
reasonable, and equitable and, if based upon a survey, be based
upon a statistically valid sample. Upon the request of any dealer,
a manufacturer or distributor shall disclose in writing to the
dealer a description of how a performance standard or program
is designed and all relevant information used in the application
of the performance standard or program to that dealer.

Affirmative Relief: Adds a new section that allows a motor
vehicle dealer to recover attorney’s fees and court costs for a
statutory violation resulting in injury to its business or property
in an action in Circuit Court.

Anti-Discrimination: Prohibits manufacturers and distributors
to discriminate in favor of or against particular dealers who sell
the same line-make.  Specific provisions address direct price
discrimination, incentive and other programs resulting in indirect
price discrimination, and the provision of lead information.

Vehicle Safety Inspection Fees: Increases from ten dollars to
fifty dollars over two years the maximum allowable fee for
inspection of tractor trucks, trucks with gross vehicle weight
ratings of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses that seat more
than sixteen passengers, including the driver.  Maximum fees
allowed for inspection of other vehicles are not changed.
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Calendar of Events
All Meetings held at DMV Headquarters

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702, Richmond, VA

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 8:45 a.m.
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 5 Minutes after Dealer Practices
Franchise Law Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Licensing Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 5 Minutes after Licensing
Advertising Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time:  5 Minutes after Advertising
Personnel Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 5 Minutes after Transaction Recovery Fund
Finance Committee Meeting

Monday, July 9, 2001:
Time: 1:45 p.m.
Full Board Meeting

NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 
scheduled.
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ACTIONS FROM THE MAY
 BOARD MEETING

• Maintaining Posted Hours. After considering
the evidence and reviewing the hearing officer’s
report, the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
determined that a civil penalty of $250 should
be levied against a Richmond area dealer for
not maintaining his posted hours.  A Dealer
Board field representative had made at least
two attempts to visit the dealer during his
posted hours; however, the dealership was not
opened on each occasion.  A letter, explaining
the minimum hours requirements, was sent to
the dealer after the first failed attempt.  A
second failed attempt resulted in the
assessment of a civil penalty.  The dealer
requested an informal fact finding conference.
After hearing all of the evidence, the hearing
officer recommended that the Board assess a
$250 civil penalty.

• Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund.
At the May Board meeting, the Transaction
Recovery Fund Committee and the Board
considered three new claims filed against
Virginia dealers.  After reviewing the three
cases, the Board voted to approve payment
from the fund for all three claims totaling
$31,328.  The Dealers will have 30 days to
repay the Fund.  Failure to repay the Fund will
result in license revocation.

• Advertising. The Dealer Advertising
Committee listened to several radio
advertisements, focusing in on the disclaimers.
The Committee concluded that disclaimers
should be as easy to understand as the rest of
the advertisement.  In addition, the volume
should not be lowered when the disclaimers are
read.

The committee also reviewed an advertisement
for a new car, which prominently displayed an
unusually low price.  A disclaimer at the bottom
of the advertisement noted that this price was
only for customers who financed the vehicle
through the dealer.  Cash and other credit
customers would pay a higher price.  The
Committee concluded that this type of
advertising was improper.  The dealer who
placed the advertisement will receive a written
warning from the Board staff.

DISCOUNT LICENSES
(Continued from page 1)

In order to renew on-line and conduct other
transactions on-line such as submitting an
application for a new salesperson and applying
for a supplemental license plus much more,
dealerships must become a Virginia
Information Providers Network (VIPNet)
subscriber.  To become a subscriber, simply
complete the VIPNet Premium Service
Subscription Agreement, the MVDB Addendum,
and pay the annual subscription fee of $50.00.
For complete information and to see a
demonstration of the various services, visit the
VIPNet Premium Services page at
www.vipnet.org/premium.  You can also see
the demonstration at the Board’s Web site
(www.mvdb.vipnet.org).

Dealers who subscribe to VIPNet may also
apply for access to the Department of Motor
Vehicles Records Access Information Service
that is included in the subscription fee.
Dealerships will be able to check driving
records for employment purposes and
complete branded title searches on vehicles
on-line.  For on-line access complete the DMV
Information Use Application.  It can be sent
with the other service agreement.

If you have any questions about gaining access
to the on-line MVDB or DMV services, please
contact VIPNet Customer Service at 804-786-
3794 or toll free 877-482-3468 or e-mail
customerservice@vipnet.org.

NEW DEALER BOARD
MEETING SCHEDULE

Please note that all of the July Dealer Board
Committee Meetings will be held on the same
day as the Full Board Meeting.  A complete
schedule can be found on Page 2.
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CURBSTONING REPORT

Since the last Board Meeting, DMV
Investigators and Dealer Board Field
Representatives have issued a total of 355
curbstoning notices.  In the town of
Christiansburg, an individual was warned
that he may be in violation of the law for
selling vehicles without a license.
Subsequent to the warning, DMV records
indicate the individual continued his activity,
selling a total of 8 vehicles in 2000.  Criminal
charges are pending.

In Arlington County, an investigation
originated as a result of another allegation
revealed that the individual was also
curbstoning.  The individual advised the
Agent that he was a licensed salesperson in
Washington, D.C.; however, neither the
District nor Virginia has a record of him being
licensed.  The individual has been charged
with selling vehicles without being properly
licensed.  A July court date has been
scheduled.

In Fairfax County, an Agent responding to a
complaint of an individual selling vehicles
from his residence discovered two Drive
Away license plates being improperly used.
Neither plate was registered to the
individual, and one plate was expired.  The
Agent seized both plates, and warned the
individual that his vehicle sales activity was
in violation of the law.

In Roanoke City, a citizen complained that a
wrecker service was improperly acquiring
and selling vehicles.  A subsequent
investigation corroborated that when vehicles
towed by the company were not claimed by
the owners, the company advertised them
for sale in The Trading Post and sold them
directly.  The individual was made aware that
his business practices were in violation of
both the curbstoning and mechanics/storage
lien statutes.

CURBSTONING REPORT

In the Portsmouth District, an Agent posed
as a buyer and agreed to purchase a vehicle
displayed for sale in a shopping center
parking lot.  When the Agent asked to see
the title prior to completing the transaction,
the seller presented an application for
certificate of title and a mechanics/storage
lien title application completed by a local
towing company.  Subsequent investigation
revealed that the seller had purchased four
vehicles at the towing company auction,
skipped title, and curbstoned the vehicles.
The individual was charged in both York
County and Norfolk.  Court dates are
pending.

Also in the Portsmouth District, four
summonses were issued for the improper
display of license plates, one in Virginia, one
in Norfolk, one in Newport News, and one in
Williamsburg.  The vehicles involved were
being displayed for sale, and were bearing
license plates registered to other vehicles.
One individual was convicted and fined
$150.  The other cases are pending court
dates.

At the last Dealer Board meeting, it was
reported on a case in the City of
Harrisonburg involving the son of a licensed
Maryland dealer who, purportedly working
under his father’s license, made a retail sale
in Virginia.  The individual pled guilty to
selling vehicles without properly being
licensed, and was fined $1,000 with $750
suspended.
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CONSIGNMENT SALES
If selling consignment vehicles is part of your business, please remember that you must execute a consignment
contract with the consignor.  Virginia Code Section 46.1-1531 lists the minimum requirements that a
consignment contract must include:
1. The complete name, address, and the telephone number of the owners.
2. The name, address, and dealer certificate number of the selling dealer.
3. A complete description of the vehicle on consignment, including the make, model year, vehicle identification
number, and body style.
4. The beginning and termination dates of the contract.
5. The percentage of commission, the amount of the commission, or the net amount the owner is to receive, if
the vehicle is sold.
6. Any fees for which the owner is responsible.
7. A disclosure of all unsatisfied liens on the vehicle and the location of the certificate of title to the vehicle.
8. A requirement that the motor vehicle pass a safety inspection prior to sale. (If a motor vehicle on
consignment from a Motor Vehicle Dealer Board certified nonprofit organization cannot pass a safety
inspection, the dealer must give the buyer a written disclosure that the vehicle did not pass a safety
inspection.)

Also, please keep in mind the following when selling a consignment vehicle:
• You must inform any prospective customer that the vehicle is on consignment.
• Dealer license plates cannot be used to demonstrate a vehicle on consignment except on
(i) motor vehicles with gross vehicle weight of 15,000 pounds or more,
(ii) vehicles on consignment from another licensed motor vehicle dealer, and
(iii) vehicles on consignment from a Motor Vehicle Dealer Board certified nonprofit organization.
• The owner's license plates may be used to demonstrate the vehicle if liability insurance coverage is in

effect.
• If you reassign the title in the name of your dealership prior to completing the sale, you may charge a

processing fee.  If the sale is actually between the buyer and the owner and you do not reassign the title in
the name of our dealership, you should not charge the buyer a processing fee.

LICENSE PLATE HOLDERS
Current law prohibits license plate holders, colored glass or plastic from covering or obscuring a license plate
number. Senate Bill 798 was passed by the 2001 session of the General Assembly and effective as of July 1,
2001 expands that section of the law.  The new law will prohibit license plate holders, colored glass or plastic
from covering, not only the license plate number, but also the month and year decals on license plates, as well
as the word “Virginia” and any logo displayed on a license plate.

In an effort to ensure that your customers do not encounter difficulties with law enforcement, please ensure
that any license plate holders placed on vehicles sold by your dealership conform to these new regulations.

                                           
      ILLEGAL LICENSE PLATE HOLDER         LEGAL LICENSE PLATE HOLDER
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WELCOME NEW DEALERS!

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board formally welcomes the following new dealers for March & April!
Should you have comments, suggestions or questions, please do not hesitate to contact the staff
of the Dealer Board.  Our telephone and FAX numbers, mailing address and e-mail address are all
listed on Page 2.

MARCH

Auto Max
3901 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22203

Car Nation
7212 W. Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia 23294

Midway Auto Sales, Inc.
2819 Highway 107
Saltville, Virginia 24370

Richard’s Auto Sales
429 East 5th Street, N
Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219

Chester Auto Sales, Inc.
9618 Jefferson Davis Highway
Richmond, Virginia 23237

Triangle Automaxx
18502 Jefferson Davis Highway
Triangle, Virginia 22172

M. L. X. Company
2826 West Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia 23230

S & T Auto Sales
403 S. Memorial Boulevard
Martinsville, Virginia 24112

Westview Auto Service Center, Inc.
6216 Indian River Road
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23464

National Use Auto Sales, Inc.
951 East Little Creek Road
Norfolk, Virginia 23518

G.E.S. Equipment
8168 Thomas Nelson Highway
Lovington, Virginia 22949

Gary McCann Auto Sales, Inc.
1105 East Fincaster Avenue
North Tazewell, Virginia 24630

Evans Auto Sales
372 South Main Street
Timberville, Virginia 22853

B & J Motor Car Company
3456 N. Valley Pike
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22802

South Richmond Harley Davidson
10011 Hull Street Road
Chesterfield, Virginia 23236

Military Auto Sales
3615 N. Military Highway
Norfolk, Virginia 23518

Easters Auto & Bus Sales, Inc.
8100 Fairystone Park Highway
Bassett, Virginia 24055

K’s Auto Center
2353 W. Pembroke Avenue
Hampton, Virginia 23661

Log Cabin Auto Sales, Inc.
1482 Floyd Highway South
Floyd, Virginia 24091

Autobank
790 Fairfax Street
Stephens City, Virginia 22655

Quality Cars of Wytheville
1100 E. Main Street
Wytheville, Virginia 24382

Frend Auto Sales
101 State Street
Staunton, Virginia 24401

Car Mart
1710 Country Club Road
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22802

Gasoline Alley
698 N. Loudoun Street
Winchester, Virginia 22601
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MARCH (continued)

Pro Auto Sales
1142 East Main Street
Salem, Virginia 24153

Mike Brockwell Auto Sales
306 Cattail Drive/P.O. Box 779
Lawrenceville, Virginia 23868

United Auto Import Company, LTD
5519 Midlothian Turnpike
Richmond, Virginia 23225

Green Light Auto Company, Inc.
121 Granite Spring Road
Richmond, Virginia 23225

Potomac Auto Sales, Inc.
17449 Jeff Davis Highway
Dumfries, Virginia 22026

Alexandria Hyundai, LLC
1707 Mount Vernon Avenue
Alexandria, Virginia 22301

ABC Washington Dulles, LLC
43375 Old Ox Road
Dulles, Virginia 20166

APRIL

Atlantic Motors
21273 Brewers Neck Boulevard
Carrollton, Virginia 23314

Rivera’s Motor Company
1572 N. King Street
Hampton, Virginia 23699

Regional Auto Sales
4520 S. Amherst Highway/P.O. Box 6
Madison Heights, Virginia 24572

Milam’s Auto Sales, Inc.
2231 James D. Hagood Highway
Halifax, Virginia 24558

Courtland U.S.A. Inc.
28265 Southampton Parkway
Courtland, Virginia 23837

Precise Automotive, Inc.
425 S. Royal Avenue
Front Royal, Virginia 22630

Rent A Wreck
1851 ½ Reservoir Street
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801

Discovery Motors
15017 Washington Street, #2/P.O. Box 1104
Haymarket, Virginia 20168

Appomattox Auto Works
Route 460 East/P.O. Box 129
Evergreen, Virginia 23939

Dominion Auto Brokers, Inc.
800 North Main Street
Emporia, Virginia 23847

Star Automotive & Used Cars
1102 South Main Street
Galax, Virginia 24333

J B M Investments, LLC
1318 East Washington Street
Petersburg, Virginia 23803

A & S Auto Sales
6707 Fayette Street, #7/P.O. Box 902
Haymarket, Virginia 20168

M & D Motors, Inc.
2343 W. Pembroke Avenue
Hampton, Virginia 23661

Action Auto Sales
1225B W. Pembroke Avenue
Hampton, Virginia 23661

Nelson Dodge ~ Nelson Honda
2500 Greensboro Road/P.O. Box 2215
Martinsville, Virginia 24113



Dealer Talk   8

APRIL (continued)

Newberry Pre-owned Specialties
2765 Virginia Avenue
Narrows, Virginia 24124

Rays Auto & Truck Sales, Inc.
Route 3, Box 343
Grundy, Virginia 24614

James River Auto Center, LLC
179 James River Road
Scottsville, Virginia 24590

Henry Fords Used Auto Sales, Inc.
1579 Sewell Point Road
Norfolk, Virginia 23502

Dreams Auto, Inc.
12 Cowardin Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23224

D.C. Auto
Route 2, Box 325F
Lebanon, Virginia 24266

Landmark Motor Company, Inc.
10601 Jeff Davis Highway
Richmond, Virginia 23234

Roanoke Truck Sales
4524 Melrose Avenue, NW
Roanoke, Virginia 24017

Mid Atlantic Auto Specialist
4877 Haygood Road
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23455

J & M Motors
Route 5, Box 398
Wytheville, Virginia 24382

Village Autos
2 Fairfax Street, SE
Leesburg, Virginia 20175

Med Transit, Inc.
1104 Godwin Street
Portsmouth, Virginia 23704

Easy Credit Auto Sales
96 Industrial Drive
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22408

Prestige Auto LLC
1064 South High Street
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801

Journal Auto Service
1919 Princess Anne Street
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22401

Great Affordable Autos LLC
3937 Turnpike Road
Portsmouth, Virginia 23701

Swedish Cars LC
5104 Park Drive, Suite 112
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22408
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Below, please find the new dealer salesperson test questions that were recently added to the
Salesperson Study Guide.  The new study guide can be obtained from any DMV Customer Service
Center, as well as the Dealer Board office and can be located on our web site.

DEALER SALESPERSON

When a thirty-day tag is issued to a customer who does not have insurance and is going to register the vehicle
in Virginia, the dealer

A. Must give the title to the customer.
B. Must handle the titling, registering and payment of fees directly with DMV.
C. Must collect the uninsured motor vehicle fee.
D. B and C above.

When a thirty-day tag is given to a customer who does not have insurance and the customer is
going to register the vehicle in Virginia, the dealer is required to collect the uninsured motor
vehicle fee and handle the transfer and payment of all fees directly with DMV.

Temporary Tags and Temporary Transport Tags can be loaned to another dealer

A. If DMV is notified.
B. If the lending dealer records the transfer on their tag log.
C. Only Temporary Transport Tags can be loaned.
D. Neither Temporary Tags nor Transport Tags can be loaned.

Neither type of temporary tags can be loaned to another dealer.

In order for a dealer to occasionally rent a vehicle without a rental license

A. The rental must be for less than five days.
B. Only a five-day temporary transport tag can be used.
C. The dealer cannot rent a vehicle without a rental license issued by DMV.
D. A and B above.

The dealer must apply for and receive a license from DMV before renting any vehicles at any time.

A dealer makes a good will substitution for a vehicle previously delivered and titled to a customer.  The sales
and use tax refund process is

A. Send a letter to DMV with the proper form completed.
B. Any additional tax is paid to DMV. If the tax on the replacement is less, the difference is not

refundable.
C. The tax is not refundable.
D. Tax is refundable only if the substitution is made within 3 days after the original sale.

The sales and use tax is not refundable under a good will substitution or refund.

The sales tax on a warranty or service agreement sold to a customer is paid to

A. DMV.
B. Motor Vehicle Dealer Board.
C. The Virginia Department of Taxation.
D. The warranty company forwards it to the state.

The sales tax on a warranty or service agreement is paid monthly to the Virginia Department of
Taxation.
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ATTENTION ALL DEALERS:
Inside this issue, please read about the following:

1. DISCOUNT LICENSES
2. HOLIDAY SCHEDULE
3. CALENDAR OF EVENTS
4. LEGISLATIVE BRIEF
5. ACTIONS
6. DISCOUNT LICENSES (CON’T)
7. CURBSTONING REPORT
8. CONSIGNMENT SALES
9. ATTACKING CURBSTONERS
10. WELCOME NEW DEALERS
11. LICENSE PLATE HOLDERS


