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Hybrid Gasoline/Electric Vehicles and HOV Use 
 
Virginia law currently allows for vehicles that utilize clean special fuel to use high occupancy vehicle (HOV) 
lanes without being subject to occupancy requirements when registered with clean special fuel license 
plates. Determinations as to which vehicles qualify for clean special fuel plates are made on a case-by-case 
basis by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality through the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV). 
 
Hybrid gasoline/electric vehicles like the Honda Insight, the Toyota Prius and the new Honda Civic Hybrid 
qualify for clean special fuel plates.  But in order to use HOV lanes without having to meet the 
occupancy requirements, these hybrid gasoline/electric vehicles must be registered with clean 
special fuel license plates. This exemption from the HOV occupancy requirements is currently valid until July 
1, 2004.  Please make sure you are fully aware of these provisions of the law so that you will be able to 
provide this information to your customers who wish to purchase these vehicles. 
 
When a dealer titles a Honda Insight, a Honda Civic Hybrid or a Toyota Prius, fuel type code “B” 
must be used as the vehicle fuel type indicator.  Accurate fuel type coding is required in order for the 
vehicle to be registered with clean special fuel license plates. 
 
Clean special fuel license plates are available to qualifying vehicles from DMV for $10 per year in addition to the 
prescribed registration fee.  A personalized number up to six digits long, when available, can be added for an 
additional $10 per year.  These plates may be purchased at any DMV Customer Service Center or from any 
dealer that sells the Honda Insight, the Honda Civic Hybrid or the Toyota Prius. 
 
If you have any further questions about clean special fuel license plates, please contact DMV’s Customer 
Contact Center by telephone at 1-800-435-5137 or by e-mail at questions@dmv.state.va.us. 
 

HOLIDAY HOURS 
 

In observance of the upcoming holiday, all 
state agencies, including the Motor Vehicle 

Dealer Board, will be closed on the following 
dates: 

 
Thursday & Friday  

July 4 & 5, 2002 
 

 
 

4th of July Holiday 
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NOTE: We make every effort to ensure information in Dealer 
Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute for legal advice. 
 

Calendar of Events 
All Meetings held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702, Richmond, VA 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time: 8:30 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time: 5 Minutes After Dealer Practices 
Franchise Law Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time: 9:30 a.m. 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time:   5 Minutes After Advertising 
Personnel Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time: 10:30 a.m. 
Finance Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time: 11:00 a.m. 
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 15, 2002 
Time: 1:45 p.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 
 scheduled.  Meeting end times are approximate. 

HELPFUL TIPS AND REMINDERS 
 
“Rent to Own” We have received reports 
that some dealers are starting-up a “rent to 
own” program fashioned after the “rent to 
own” furniture, appliance and electronics 
concept. 
 
Before you implement such a program, 
please keep the following in mind: 
 
• You must be licensed by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles to rent 
motor vehicles. 

• The “rent to own” must be two separate 
transactions. 

• While in the “rent” cycle, you must have 
a rental agreement with the consumer, 
the vehicle must display “rental” tags 
(license plates) and you must submit 
rental tax to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles. 

• When the consumer enters the “own” 
cycle, you must complete a sales 
transaction just as you would any sale.  
For instance, a buyers order must be 
completed, sales and use tax paid, title 
transfer, new tags and registration, and 
a new safety inspection.  Again – this 
transaction must be treated like any 
other sales transaction. 

 
If you have questions about obtaining a 
rental license, rental tags and payment of 
rental tax, please contact the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (804) 367-6805 or 
(804) 367-4324.  Information can also be 
found at DMV’s WEB site 
(www.dmv.state.va.us/) and “clicking” on 
“Rental Tax” under “Commercial Services.” 
 
Special Sales Events  We are aware there 
are marketing firms that are able to bring a 
complete special sales event package to your 
dealership.  Some of these packages include 
sales staff.  Please be aware that even these 
salespersons must be licensed in Virginia to 
sell motor vehicles.  If you compensate an 
unlicensed individual, you could be assessed 
a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each 
occurrence. 
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BOARD ACTIONS 
 
Dealer Practices. Based on a consumer 
complaint and an investigation by Board staff, an 
informal fact finding conference was convened for 
an Arlington area dealer.  It was alleged and then 
proven that the dealer was aware of the “salvage 
and repair” history of the vehicle and did not 
disclose this information to the customer despite 
the customer asking about these items.  These 
actions or lack of disclosure are covered under 
several Virginia laws including defrauding a retail 
buyer to the buyers’ damage (§46.2-1575.4), a 
deceptive act and practice (§46.2-1575.6) and 
knowingly advertising untrue, deceptive or 
misleading information (§46.2-1575.7).  Based on 
the hearing officer’s recommendation, the Board 
levied a civil penalty in the amount of $1,000 on 
the dealer. 
 
The dealer will have 33 days to either pay the civil 
penalty or appeal the Board’s decision to circuit 
court.  Failure to pay the penalty or file an appeal 
will result in the immediate suspension of the 
dealer’s license. 
 
Dealer Practices. After receiving at least two 
reports from a field representative that a 
Fredericksburg area dealer was not opened during 
its posted, scheduled hours, the Board staff levied 
a $250 civil penalty on this dealership. (The 
dealer received an educational/warning letter 
after the first occurrence)  The civil penalty was 
paid in November of 2001.  In January of 2002, 
the Board received a report from a field 
representative that the dealership was one again 
not opened during their posted business hours.  
The Board staff levied a $500 civil penalty on this 
dealership.  The owner requested an informal 
conference in front of a hearing officer. 
 
After hearing all of the evidence, the hearing 
officer recommended a $500 civil penalty be 
assessed against the dealer.  At the May 2002 
Board meeting, the Board considered all of the 
evidence and the hearing officer’s 
recommendation and voted to assess a $500 civil 
penalty on the dealer for not maintaining his 
posted business hours. 
 
The dealer will have 33 days to either pay the civil 
penalty or appeal the Board’s decision to circuit 
court.  Failure to pay the penalty or file an appeal 
will result in the immediate suspension of the 
dealer’s license. 

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
(Con’t) 

Dealer Practices.  As a result of continuous 
alleged violations of the record keeping 
requirements, an informal fact finding conference 
was convened for a Richmond area dealer. Based 
on the recommendation of a hearing officer, the 
executive director issued an order of revocation, 
however, the order was “stayed” pending an 
educational meeting with the dealer and a follow-
up inspection.  The follow-up inspection was not 
satisfactory, so the “stay’ was lifted and the 
dealer’s license was revoked.  The dealer 
appealed the revocation and a formal hearing was 
conducted.  The hearing officer recommended 
that the dealer’s license be suspended for 14 days 
and that a $500 civil penalty be assessed.  The 
Board agreed with the hearing officer’s 
recommendation. 
 
The dealer will have 33 days to either pay the civil 
penalty and surrender his license or appeal the 
Board’s decision to circuit court. 
 
Dealer Advertising.  Advertising:  A 
Chesapeake area dealer was found to be in 
violation of the “Truth in Lending” regulations and 
was assessed a $500 civil penalty.  The dealer 
had received an educational telephone call from 
Board staff after the first incident and a letter 
after the second.  The third incident resulted in 
the Board convening an informal fact finding 
conference with a hearing officer.  The hearing 
officer recommended a $500 civil penalty. 
 
The dealer will have 33 days to either pay the civil 
penalty or appeal the Board’s decision to circuit 
court.  Failure to pay the penalty or file an appeal 
will result in the immediate suspension of the 
dealer’s license. 
 
Motor Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund:  
At the May Board meeting, the Transaction 
Recovery Fund Committee and the Board 
considered three new claims filed against the 
same Virginia dealer.  After reviewing the three 
cases, the Board voted to approve payment from 
the fund for all three claims totaling $43,400.  
The Dealer (who is now closed) will have 30 days 
to repay the Fund. 
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CURBSTONING REPORT 
 
Since we have established a full-time curbstoning 
enforcement position, the curbstoning report has 
grown to the point that it is not practical to 
publish the entire report in this newsletter.  We 
will print a summary of all curbstoning related 
court convictions.  The full report will be posted 
on our WEB site (www.mvdb.vipnet.org) and 
accessed by “clicking” on Special Reports. 

 
Since the last Dealer Board meeting, DMV Special 
Agents and MVDB representatives have issued 
216 curbstone notices. 
 
In Waynesboro, an individual was charged and 
convicted of:  1) Failing to title a vehicle within 30 
days, 2) Unlawful possession of a title, and 3) 
Selling vehicles without being properly licensed.   
He was fined $7,500, with $7,000 suspended, and 
given two years of unsupervised probation. 
 
In Prince William County, a MVDB representative 
observed two vehicles parked on VDOT property 
displaying the same contact phone number and 
license plates.  The license plates were not 
registered to either vehicle.  He referred the 
information to a DMV Special Agent for further 
investigation. The Agent located another “for 
sale” vehicle nearby, displaying the same phone 
number and also an improper license plate. When 
the Agent – posing as a prospective purchaser – 
called the phone number, a male agreed to have 
someone meet him.  The individual’s wife arrived 
with the keys and open titles to both vehicles.   
She was charged with two counts of unlawful 
possession of a title, and one count of improper 
registration.  On May 9, she pled guilty to the two 
title violations, and received a $500 fine on each. 
 
In Manassas, a Special Agent observed a vehicle 
parked at a local business where he had 
frequently seen other vehicles displayed “for 
sale.”   When contacted, the seller produced an 
open title, and stated he was selling the car for 
someone else.  He also said the vehicle had a 
dealer plate on it when he bought it.   The 
individual was charged with, and pled guilty to, 
unlawful possession of a title, and received a 
$500 fine.   
 
 
 
 
 

 

CURBSTONING REPORT 
(Con’t) 

The Agent continued the investigation by 
interviewing the individual who provided the 
vehicle to the first seller. He would not disclose 
where he bought the car.  The owner listed on 
the face of the title indicated she donated it to a 
church.   The church sold the vehicle to an 
independent dealer for $1,000.  The dealer then 
sold the car to the next individual for $1,500, 
without reassigning the title.  That person made 
some repairs to the car, and told the final seller 
that he could keep anything over $3,000.  
Charges are pending against the other two 
sellers. 
 
Also in Manassas, a Special Agent observed two 
vehicles displayed “for sale” at a gas station. One 
vehicle had no license plates on it, and the other 
a plate registered to yet another vehicle.  The 
Agent contacted the seller (also the gas station 
owner), who initially purported to be a dealer.  
The seller produced vehicle titles with open 
reassignments from a local independent dealer.  
He stated he also had another car for sale on the 
lot that he was selling for a friend, again with an 
open title.  The individual later recanted his 
statement, saying that he, in fact, did not have a 
dealer license and was just trying to learn the 
business.  He said the dealer he was working with 
accompanied him to a local auction to buy cars.    
He was charged with: 1) Selling vehicles without 
being properly licensed, 2) Unlawful possession of 
a title, and 3) Improper registration. On May 9, he 
pled guilty to “curbstoning” and received  a 
$2,500 fine, with $1,000 suspended.  The 
individual intends to make application for his 
dealer license. 
 
In Loudoun County, a shopping center manager 
had been allowing vehicles to be displayed “for 
sale” for several years.  Despite receiving written 
and oral warnings from the MVDB, the manager 
refused to post signs prohibiting this activity.  
After Special Agent Gilbertson further explained 
the importance of his cooperation and issued a 
final warning prior to pursuing criminal charges, 
the manager posted appropriate signs.   The signs 
have been successful in deterring further sales 
activity, as observed by Gilbertson’s recent visit to 
the location. 
 
Special Agent Gilbertson attended VIADA Chapter 
meetings in Roanoke, Lynchburg, and Coeburn. 
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Siemens Automotive to Expand 
 
Governor Warner recently announced that Siemens 
VDO Automotive will expand its production facility in 
the City of Newport News.  The expansion is a result 
of the consolidation and relocation of three business 
activities in Michigan, Indiana and Connecticut 

On January 1, 2002, Siemens Automotive Corp. and 
VDO North America merged to form Siemens VDO 
Automotive Corp. in the United States.  Siemens VDO 
Automotive is a supplier of automotive 
electronic/electrical systems and components with 
applications covering gasoline and diesel powertrain 
systems, safety and chassis systems and body 
electronics.  Worldwide sales reflecting partial fiscal 
year 2000/2001 totaled $5 billion.  Additional 
information can be found on the company’s web site 
at www.usa.siemensvdo.com. 

 
 

NEW DEALERS 
 
The listing of “new dealers” can be found at our WEB 
site (www.mvdb.vipnet.org) and accessed by 
“clicking” on Special Reports. 
 

 
 

POPULAR FORM NOW ON THE 
DEALER BOARD WEBSITE 

 
How many times have you called or written in for the 
form DSD-27, only to hear they’re on back order? Well 
say no more, this form is now on the Board’s website. 
 
Simply type www.mvdb.vipnet.org, then hit the 
Dealer/Salesperson Info button and then the Forms 
button.  The forms are listed in alphabetical order.  In 
order to access all our forms, you must have Adobe 
Acrobat Reader. We have a link at the bottom of the 
forms page to download this software, free of charge. 

 
JULY BOARD MEETING DATE 

CHANGE 
 
Please note that the July Board meeting will be the 
third Monday, rather than the second Monday.  The 
new date is July 15, 2002.  Please see page 2 of this 
newsletter for more information. 
 

“BIRD DOGGING” 
 
Virginia law is very clear: Only licensed salespeople 
may receive compensation in the connection of a sale 
of a motor vehicle.  Specifically, § 46.2-1537 of the 
Code of Virginia states:   
 
“It shall be unlawful for any motor vehicle dealer or 
salesperson licensed under this chapter, directly or 
indirectly, to solicit the sale of a motor vehicle through 
a pecuniarily [financially] interested person, or to pay, 
or cause to be paid, any commission or compensation 
in any form whatsoever to any person in connection 
with the sale of a motor vehicle, unless the person is 
duly licensed as a salesperson employed by the 
dealer.” 
 
You could be assessed a civil penalty of up to $1,000 
for each time you compensate or pay anyone, other 
than one of your licensed salespeople, in connection 
with the sale of a motor vehicle.  This prohibition 
includes, but is not limited to, compensating 
customers, Internet companies and others who refer 
customers to you and this referral leads to a sale. 
 
If an internet or any other company is merely 
advertising your vehicles and you are paying a “set” 
fee, regardless of the vehicle being sold or not sold, 
there should not be a problem.  Problems begin when 
compensation is being made in connection with the 
sale of a vehicle or when payment is made when the 
vehicle is sold. 
 

 
 

BENNIE CUP: 
WE WILL MISS YOU 

 
Dealer Board member Bennie Cupp recently and 
reluctantly, submitted his resignation.  The law setting 
up the Board states that one of the independent 
dealers appointed to the Board must be “primarily 
engaged in the motor vehicle salvage business.”  
Bennie has held that position since November of 
1999.  Recently, Bennie sold his salvage auto parts 
business. He continues to own and operate Cupps 
Auto Sales in Harrisonburg.  Since he is no longer in 
the salvage business, he does not meet the statutory 
requirements, and therefore believed that he must 
resign.  Bennie stated that he thought “It would be in 
the best interest of the Board that someone in the 
salvage business be on the Board.”  
 
In his nearly three years of service to the Board and 
the Commonwealth, Bennie never missed a Dealer 
Board meeting.  He will be missed. 
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ATTENTION ALL DEALERS: 
Inside this issue, please read about the following: 
 
 

1. HYBRID GASOLINE/ELECTRIC VEHICLES 
2. HELPFUL TIPS AND REMINDERS 
3. BOARD ACTIONS 
4. CURBSTONING REPORT 
5. SIEMENS AUTOMOTIVE TO EXPLAND 
6. NEW DEALERS 
7. POPULAR FORM NOW ON MVDB WEBSITE 
8. JULY BOARD MEETING DATE CHANGED 
9. BIRD DOGGING  
10. BENNIE CUPP RESIGNS 
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