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NO INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS 
 

All persons licensed by the MVD Board as salespersons must be employed by the dealer/dealership and 
cannot be an independent con ractor (IRS form 1099), as defined in the United States Department of 
Treasury, Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 

t
Publication 1779. (Go to our Website at mvdb.vipnet.org and 

click on the “Special Reports” button to see IRS Publication 1779).  Failure to comply will result in a 
written warning; and subsequent occurrences may result in civil penalties, suspension, or revocation of 
your dealer license.  
 
By June 30, 2003, all original and renewal dealer and salesperson license applicants will be required to 
certify on the licensing applications that they are in compliance.  Falsified certifications will be considered 
a material misstatements under § 46.2-1575.1 and could result in a $1,000.00 civil penalty being levied, 
your license being suspended, or ultimately revoked. 
 

 
 

DO YOU MISS DEALER TALK? 
 

In adjusting for necessary budget reductions this past fall, the Board reluctantly reduced the number of 
issues of Dealer Talk that will be printed and mailed to you.  We have continued to produce six issues per 
year and all six issues will be posted on our WEB site.  We encourage you to sign-up for an e-mail 
notification.  If you sign-up for e-mail notification, we will send you an e-mail when new issues of Dealer 
Talk are posted on our WEB site.  To sign-up for e-mail notification, go to our WEB site at 
www.mvdb.vipnet.org and “click” on the “Subscribe to Our E-Mail List” button.  Please note that we do 
not share your e-mail addresses with anyone else.  There is no limit as to how many individuals in your 
dealership can sign-up and you may sign-up from your dealership or from home.  To view past issues of 
Dealer Talk, go to our website and click on the “Dealer/Salesperson Info” button. 
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HOLIDAY HOURS 
 

servance of the upcoming holidays, all 
 agencies, including the Dealer Board, 
ill be closed on the following date: 

 

Friday 
July 4, 2003 

 
4th of JULY! 
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BOARD ACTIONS  

 
 
A Bi-monthly newsletter of The Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board 
Bruce Gould, Executive Director 
Peggy Bailey, Office Manager 
Debbie Allison, Field Representative Supervisor 
 
Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
2201 West Broad Street 
Suite 104 
Richmond, Virginia 23220 
Phone:  (804) 367-1100 
FAX:  (804) 367-1053 
Toll Free: (877) 270-0203 (Intra-State only) 
E-mail:  dboard@mvb.state.va.us 
Website: www.mvdb.vipnet.org 
 
NOTE: We make every effort to ensure information 
in Dealer Talk is accurate, but it is not a substitute 
for legal advice. 
 

Calendar of Events 
All Meetings held at DMV Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 702  
Richmond, VA 

 
Monday, July 14, 2003 
Time: 8:30 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 14, 2003 
Time: Immediately following Dealer Practices 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 14, 2003 
Time:  9:30 a.m. 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 14, 2003 
Time: Immediately following Advertising 
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, July 14, 2003 
Time: 10:30 a.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not 
  earlier than scheduled. 

 
 
Dealer Practices: The Dealer Board assessed a 
$750 civil penalty on a Fredericksburg area dealer for 
displaying and offering to sell vehicles from a 
location other than his licensed location.  Another 
Fredericksburg area dealer was assessed a $300 civil 
penalty for having been convicted of a criminal act 
involving the business of selling motor vehicles.   
 
Both a Portsmouth area dealer and a Newport News 
area dealer were assessed $250 civil penalties for not 
maintaining their established business hours.  Each 
dealer had received a least one warning that they 
must be opened during their established/posted 
business hours. 
 
A Haymarket area dealer was assessed civil penalties 
totaling $5,250 for a number of violations related to 
record keeping.  The dealer had failed to comply 
even after receiving numerous warning and 
educational efforts from and by the Board. 
 
The Board voted to suspend all licenses and 
certificates issued to Star Motors of Haymarket (Mr. 
Mohammad R. Sohrabian, owner) for one year and 
also levied a civil penalty totaling $8,250 for ongoing 
record keeping problems even after receiving 
numerous warnings and educational efforts from and 
by the Board. 
 
All dealer licenses and certificates issued to Mr. 
Lawrence E. Coffey (Small Time Auto Sales) of 
Lynchburg were revoked for failing to comply with a 
warning from the Board and willful disregard for the 
Dealer Laws; for knowingly advertising something 
that was false or misleading; and for misusing dealer 
tags. 
 
Dealer Licensing: An Alexandria dealer was 
assessed civil penalties totaling $8,100 for paying 
sales commissions to unlicensed salespersons.  The 
dealer had failed to secure salespersons licenses for 
six of its sales staff. 
 
The dealer-operator and a salesperson for a 
Fredericksburg area dealer had their licenses revoked 
for having been convicted of a criminal act involving 
the business of selling automobiles. 
 
Dealer Advertising: A dealer in Amherst was 
assessed a $500 civil penalty for repeated violation 
of the Truth in Lending regulations. 
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SUMMARY 
Motor Vehicle Dealer 
 Related Legislation 

2003 General Assembly 
 
 
Below is a list and brief summary of legislation of 
interest to motor vehicle dealers and adopted by 
the 2003 General Assembly.  All are effective July 
1, 2003 unless noted otherwise. 
 
If you are interested in reading the full text of any 
of the bills listed below, you can find that 
information on the Internet as follows: 
 

• Go to the Home Page of the Virginia 
General Assembly: http://legis.state.va.us/ 

• Under the heading “Bills and Resolutions”, 
enter the bill number as noted below 
(Example: SB1276) and click on “Go” 

• This will take you to a summary of the bill’s 
history.  Under the heading “Full text” click 
on the last item listed and this will bring 
you to the most up-to-date version of the 
bill. 

 
If you are reading this “on-line”. Just “click” on the 
bill number and you will be “hot-linked” to the PDF 
version of the bill. 
 
HB 1440 (Charles W. Carrico, Sr.)  Requires 
applicants for vehicle registrations to supply DMV 
with the street address of their residence. 
 
HB 1443 (Vincent F. Callahan)  Under current 
law, a manufacturer does not have the right of 
first refusal on the proposed sale or transfer of a 
dealership if that sale or transfer is to a 
member(s) of the family of one or more dealer 
owners, or to a qualified manager or a partnership 
or corporation controlled by such persons.  This 
legislation adds a “limited liability company” or 
“other entity” controlled by such persons to this 
list. This is, in effect, a technical amendment that 
affords limited liability companies and other 
entities  the same treatment as similarly situated 
partnerships and corporations.  
 
 
 
 
 

SUMMARY 
Motor Vehicle Dealer 
 Related Legislation 

2003 General Assembly 
(continued) 

 
HB 1521 (Clarke N. Hogan)  Requires that the 
titles of both repaired and rebuilt vehicles be 
permanently branded to show that they are 
salvage vehicles. The bill also defines "repaired 
vehicle" as "any salvage vehicle that has had 
repairs less than the amount necessary to make it 
a rebuilt vehicle."  The effect of this bill would be 
that the titles of late model vehicles that sustain 
damage less than 76% of its actual pre-crash 
value and are acquired by an insurance company 
and subsequently repaired for use on the road, 
would be permanently branded “REPAIRED 
VEHICLE”.  Vehicles that sustain damage less than 
76% of its actual pre-crash value and are repaired 
by the owner (Never acquired by an insurance 
company.) will not be branded. 
 
HB 2174  (Clarence E. Phillips)  Allows display of 
safety approval stickers on plates securely 
fastened to motorcycles for that purpose.  
 
HB 2266  (Frank D. Hargrove, Sr.)  Prohibits any 
person selling, installing or replacing motor vehicle 
glass from advertising, promising to provide, or 
offering any coupon, credit or rebate to pay all or 
part of an insurance deductible under a motor 
vehicle insurance policy unless the person charges 
no more than the prevailing market rate for such 
services. 
 
HB 2502 (H. Morgan Griffith)  Authorizes licensed 
Virginia dealers, to act as agents of the 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  The dealer would 
be required to enter into an agreement with DMV 
and the dealer would collect a commission the 
same as other license agents. 
 
HB 2537 (Allen L. Louderback)  Allows DMV, in 
the case of a casual sale (no dealer involved) of a 
motor vehicle, to collect the motor vehicle sales 
and use tax on the basis of the total sales price as 
established by evidence required by the 
Commissioner.  
 
 

(continued on page 4) 
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HB 2537 (continued) However, if the motor 
vehicle is no more than five years old and is listed 
in a recognized pricing guide, then the total sale 
price used to calculate the motor vehicle sales and 
use tax shall not be less than the trade-in value 
listed in such guide (less an allowance of $1,500), 
unless the purchaser executes an affidavit stating 
a lesser total sale price and declaring such sale or 
use to be a bona fide transaction for full value 
 
HB 2604 (L. Preston Bryant, Jr.)  Gives motor 
vehicle dealers and their salespersons the option 
to be bonded instead of participating in the Motor 
Vehicle Transaction Recovery Fund.  Dealers may 
choose to obtain a $100,000 bond that will cover 
the dealer and his salespeople or a dealer can 
choose to be covered through membership to a 
nonprofit organization under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(6)  
(For example, both VADA and VIADA are 
“501(c)(6)” organizations.) that carries a $1 million 
“umbrella” bond that covers its members.  The 
new bond options will only be available to dealers 
who have been in business more than three years 
and have not been the subject of a claim against 
the bond or the fund for three consecutive years.  
 
HB 2681 (Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr.)  Deems all-
terrain vehicles (ATVs) and off-road motorcycles to 
be motorcycles for the purpose of the motorcycle 
dealers laws and will potentially subject certain 
entities who sell, manufacturer or distribute ATVs 
and off road motorcycles to motorcycle dealer 
requirements and franchise protections.   
 
HB 2720 (John A. Rollison, III)  Requires “on-
line” dealers to collect from the purchaser, the 
"purchaser's on-line systems filing fee", (the fee 
the dealer must pay to the vendor (example, CVR, 
TriVin) who provides the link to DMV for 
processing the purchaser’s title and registration 
transaction).  In addition, dealers must list this fee 
separately on the buyer’s order and identify this 
fee as “on-line systems filing fee.”  You are 
reminded that anytime you change your buyer’s 
order, you must send a copy to the Dealer Board 
for their files.  This provision of the legislation 
becomes effective July 1, 2003 and will require 
amendment to the on-line dealer contracts 
between dealers and DMV. 
 
 
 
 

Further, dealers who choose not to become an 
“on-line” dealer must pay a manual transaction fee 
of $15 to DMV for every manual transaction 
completed at a DMV customer service center in 
excess of 10 transactions per month.  The 
provision of the bill imposing manual transaction 
fees does not become effective until December 31, 
2003.  Thus, effective December 31, 2003, dealers 
who elect not to become on-line dealers and who 
bring more than 10 pieces of work to a DMV office 
in a month, must pay a fee of $15 for each 
transaction in excess of 10 conducted in that 
month.  Dealers are prohibited from passing this 
$15 fee along to the purchaser. 
 
Note:  The manual transaction fee will not apply to 
any pilot program established under the provisions 
of SB 1276. 
 
SB 809  (Kenneth W. Stolle)  Provides an 
exemption from the motor vehicle sales and use 
tax for vehicles titled in the name of a deceased 
person and transferred to the spouse or heir, or 
under the will, of such deceased person. 
 
SB 965  (John C. Watkins)  Strengthens the 
ability of the Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) to clean up the 339 remaining tire piles 
throughout the state.   It authorizes the 
establishment of tire convenience centers as 
temporary collection points for tire storage.  DMV-
licensed salvage yards that are holding fewer than 
300 waste tires and convenience centers having 
up to 1,500 tires are exempt from having to obtain 
a permit from DEQ.  The bill includes a three-year 
increase in the tire recycling fee added to new tire 
costs (from $0.50 per new tire sold to $1.00), to 
be used to fund the removal of tire piles.  The fee 
will revert to $0.50 on 7/1/06. 
 
SB 1276 (Frank W. Wagner)  Establishes a pilot 
project whereby a private business can perform 
certain vehicle related transactions (titles, 
registrations, etc) with DMV on behalf of other 
businesses such as motor vehicle dealers. The 
business conducting the pilot could perform 
transactions on-line or in person at a DMV CSC 
and would be paid a commission by DMV. 
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Helpful Tips and Reminders 
 
Written Correspondence:  All written 
correspondence, forms and applications should be 
mailed to the Board’s headquarters office at 2201 West 
Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond, Virginia 23220.  
Please do not send these materials to the field 
representatives unless you are specifically asked to do 
so. 
 
Compensation:  Please remember that Virginia law 
does not allow Virginia dealers to compensate anyone, 
other than a salesperson licensed in the name of the 
dealership, in the connection with the sale of an 
automobile.  This includes third parties such as internet 
and special promotion companies.  You should not pay 
fees to these third parties if those fees are tied to the 
sale of motor vehicles.  Specifically, § 46.2-1537 states: 
 
“Prohibited solicitation and compensation.  It 
shall be unlawful for any motor vehicle dealer or 
salesperson licensed under this chapter, directly 
or indirectly, to solicit the sale of a motor vehicle 
through a pecuniarily interested person, or to 
pay, or cause to be paid, any commission or 
compensation in any form whatsoever to any 
person in connection with the sale of a motor 
vehicle, unless the person is duly licensed as a 
salesperson employed by the dealer.” 
 
Virginia dealers who violate this law could be assessed 
a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per occurrence. 
 
Advertising.  If you advertise on radio and television, 
please remember that the Virginia Motor Vehicle 
Advertising regulations state that when terms, 
conditions or disclaimers are used, they must be clearly 
announced (and or conspicuously displayed in the case 
of television) during the advertisement.  Further, the 
terms, conditions or disclaimers must be at an 
understandable speed and volume level.  It is advised 
that disclaimers NOT be given at the beginning of the 
advertisement as the listener may have difficulties 
connecting the disclaimer to the advertisement. 
 
Virginia Code Section 46.2-1575 (6) authorizes the 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board to suspend or revoke the 
licenses of any dealer for “having used deceptive acts 
or practices.”  Advertisements that “deceive” the 
listener, viewer or reader are subject to this Code 
section.  For example, terms, conditions or disclaimers 
that are read at a speed and volume that are not easily 
understood or are read at the beginning of an 
advertisement in such a way that the listener cannot 
easily connect the terms conditions or disclaimer to the 
rest of the advertisement, may be considered 
“deceptive”. 
 
 

AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY 
EXPANDING IN VIRGINIA 

 
You might be surprised to learn that automotive and 
automotive parts manufacturing facilities in Virginia 
employ more than 25,000 Virginians. There have been 
117 new facilities or expansions of existing Virginia 
facilities in the automotive industry announced during 
the past 10 years. Since 1992, Virginia has announced 
$2.1 billion of automotive investments, creating more 
than 10,300 jobs. 
 
Recently, Governor Mark W. Warner and Jim McCrone, 
President of Carbone Kirkwood LLC, announced that 
Carbone Kirkwood LLC will expand its existing 
operations in Prince Edward County. Through a $2.7 
million investment, the company will create 65 new jobs 
at its facility on Industrial Park Road. Carbone Kirkwood 
LLC, a newly established joint venture involving the 
carbon product divisions of Kirkwood Industries and 
Carbone of America, is the country’s largest supplier of 
carbon brushes for automobile motors.  Carbone 
Kirkwood supplies brush products for major motor 
manufacturers in the USA, Canada and Mexico. 
 
Also, Governor Warner and Dr. Wolfgang Ziebart, 
deputy chairman of the Executive Board for Continental 
AG recently announced that Continental Teves, Inc., 
one of the world’s largest automotive suppliers, will 
expand its Culpeper County facility.  The expansion will 
create 29 new jobs through a $3 million investment, 
and is part of a two-year $14.7 million investment 
program that will allow the Culpeper plant to service 
recently awarded new business contracts.  
 
“Investing in our Culpeper plant will allow us to add 
new equipment and upgrade the facility so that it can 
continue producing vehicle safety technologies that help 
save lives,” Ziebart said. “These investments were 
necessary in order for Culpeper to manufacture the 
next generation anti-lock brake system (ABS), offering 
automakers improved performance in a lighter, more 
cost-efficient unit, as well as the Electronic Stability 
Program (ESP) that significantly enhances vehicle 
stability, and anti-rollover protection technologies.” 
 
The 29 new jobs in Culpeper will support Electronic Air 
Suspension production destined for sport utility vehicles 
built in North America. 
 
Continental Teves, headquartered in Frankfurt/Main 
Germany, is a unit of Continental AG, Hanover, 
Germany. With 2002 sales of approximately $12 billion 
(US), the Continental Corporation is a major supplier of 
brake systems, chassis components, vehicle electronics, 
tires and technical rubber products.  (Source:  Recent 
Press Releases from the Office of Governor Mark W. 
Warner.) 
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