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NOTE:  We make every effort to 
ensure information in Dealer Talk is 
accurate, but it is not a substitute 
for legal advice. 
 
 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 

Mission Statement 
 
The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board will 
administer sections of the 
Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Laws and regulations as charged; while 
providing a high level of customer 
service for the automotive consumer 
and dealer community. 
 
 
 

In This Issue 
 

Dealer Manual . . .   pg 1 
Board Actions . . .   pg 2 
DMV Actions  . . .   pg 4 
Display or Show?  .    .   pg 4 
Revised CSC Hours . .   pg 6 
Dealer-Operator Course  .   pg 7 
 
 
 
 

 

DEALER MANUAL  
 

The DMV Dealer Manual has been completely re-written and it 
is now available on-line. (A hard copy can be purchased for 
$10 from DMV Dealer Services.) 
 
This link will take you directly to the Manual:  Dealer Manual  
(The DMV WEB site address is  
http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/commercial/dealer/in
dex.asp   and click on " Dealer Manual".)  
 
A link has also been added to the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Board’s WEB site (www.mvdb.virginia.gov) in the “What’s 
Hot” area.   Future updates/revisions will be   announced on 
the "Dealer Correspondence" area of DMV’s WEB site, under 
Dealer Services, and on the main page under " Important 
Notices".  Also, those that subscribe to the MVDB email list 
will be notified by email of any updates. 
 
Dealers and others may choose to print the manual, download 
to their PC or access it via our WEB site or DMV’s WEB site. 
 
The Manual is in PDF format and is therefore searchable.  For 
example, if one was looking for information on insurance 
requirements, just type “insurance” in the “find” area at the 
top of the page.  The system will find and highlight the word 
“insurance” throughout the entire Manual and by clicking on 
the “find next” arrow you can find each reference to 
“insurance”. 
 
Re-writing this Manual was a huge undertaking.  The Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with assistance from the 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB), the Virginia Independent 
Dealers Association (VIADA) and the Virginia Dealers 
Association (VADA) did a great job.  DMV deserves a big 
“thank you” for getting this done. 
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Calendar of Events 
 

All Meetings held at DMV 
Headquarters 

2300 W. Broad Street, Room 
702  Richmond, VA 

 
 
Monday, November 9, 2009 
Time:  8:30 a.m. 
Dealer Practices Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, November 9, 2009 
Time:  Immediately following 
Dealer Practices 
Licensing Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, November 9, 2009 
Time:  9:30 a.m. 
Advertising Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, November 9, 2009 
Time: Immediately following 
Advertising 
Transaction Recovery Fund 
Committee Meeting 
 
Monday, November 9, 2009 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Full Board Meeting 
 
 
NOTE: Meetings may begin later, 
 but not earlier than  
 scheduled. 

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
 

Edward D. Stephens, Jr. and E Z Ride Auto Sales, Inc.    
Following the Board’s established process, this dealer was sent 
an educational/warning letter by certified mail for not 
maintaining his business hours.  A second attempt to inspect 
this dealer nine months later was also unsuccessful as the 
dealership was not opened.  As a result, a $250 civil penalty was 
assessed.  The dealer appealed this penalty and on July 2, 2009, 
an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address 
the alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 46.2-1533 (failure 
to maintain posted business hours) and (46.2-1575(2) (failure to 
comply subsequent to receipt of a written warning/willful 
failure to comply). Based on the recommendation of the hearing 
officer, the Board determined that Mr. Stephens must 
successfully complete the Dealer-Operator Course by October 
14, 2009.  If Mr. Stephens does not successfully complete the 
course within that time frame, his license will be suspended. 
 
Karen D. Munns and Valley View Motors.  Field Representative 
Jackson attempted to inspect this dealership on two different 
dates.  The dealership was closed and appeared to be out of 
business.  An educational/warning letter was sent to the dealer.  
At a later date, Ms Munns notified the Board that she had moved 
her dealership.  Jackson attempted to inspect the dealership 
only to find it closed.  Another educational/warning letter was 
sent to Ms Munns who subsequently contacted Jackson and told 
him that she had been in a car accident on the date he 
attempted to conduct his inspection. 

 
Jackson attempted to inspect this dealership on multiple times 
in March and April 2009 only to find it closed.  This last series of 
failed attempts resulted in the assessment of a $250 civil 
penalty.  The dealer appealed this penalty and on July 30, 2009, 
an informal fact-finding conference was conducted to address 
the alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 46.2-1533 (failure 
to maintain posted business hours) and 46.2-1575(2) (failure to 
comply subsequent to receipt of a written warning/willful 
failure to comply). Based on the recommendation of the hearing 
officer, the Board determined that Ms. Munns must successfully 
complete the Dealer-Operator Course by November 14, 2009.  If 
Ms. Munns does not successfully complete the course within that 
time frame, her license will be suspended. 
 

 
(Continued on page 3) 
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HOLIDAYS HOURS 
 
In observance of the upcoming 
holidays, all state agencies, 
including the Dealer Board, will 
be closed on the following dates: 

    

    

    

NOVEMBER 11, 2009 

VETERANS DAY 
 

 
 

AND 
 

NOVEMBER 25 (Closed at 
noon) and all day November 

26 & 27, 2009 for  
 
 

THANKSGIVING 

    

    

    

 

BOARD ACTIONS 
(Continued from page 2) 

 

Beryl Saddler and Quick Cash Auto Sales.  From June of 2008 
through July 2009, this dealer was the subject of four unsatisfactory 
inspections including not being open and deficient record keeping.  
The dealer received at least two educational/warning letters.  The 
fourth failed inspection resulted in the Board convening an informal 
fact-finding conference on August 13, 2009.  The conference 
addressed the alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 46.2-1518 
(failure to display list of salespersons employed), 46.2-1529 (failure to 
maintain all dealer records), 46.2-1532 (failure to maintain odometer 
disclosure statements), 46.2-1539 (failure to have vehicles inspected 
prior to retail sale) and 46.2-1559 (failure to keep a written record of 
temporary license plates and have them available for inspection).  
The Board voted to assess a $1,000 civil penalty and require Ms. 
Saddler to successfully complete the Dealer-Operator class by March 
14, 2010. 
 
Qasim Abbasi and Luxury Auto Sales.  This dealer was running 
advertisements in the Auto Trader where the disclaimer stated that 
the advertised price did not include a $3,000 cash down payment or 
equivalent trade.  Staff called the dealer and informed the general 
manager that such advertising appeared to be deceptive; in violation 
of the prohibition of “bait advertising”; and that the disclaimer 
contradicted the actual advertised price.  About three months later, 
another educational call was made to the dealership in reference to 
advertisements in the Auto Trader with a disclaimer that the 
advertised price did not include a $1,895 “pre-delivery fee.  This was 
in addition to a $595 processing fee.  Board staff informed the dealer 
that the law did not allow for a “pre-delivery fee” and that the pre-
delivery fee disclaimer could be in violation of the same three 
laws/regulations as explained in the earlier educational call. 
 
The dealer continued to advertise with the pre-delivery fee and as a 
result, a $5,000 civil penalty was assessed.  The dealer appealed the 
assessment and on June 2, 2009, an informal fact-finding conference 
was conducted to address the alleged violation(s) of VA Code Sections 
46.2-1581(8) (which states in part “. . . the advertised price or credit 
terms shall include all charges which the buyer must pay to the 
seller”, 46.2-1581(12) (“Bait” advertising, in which an advertiser may 
have no intention to sell at the price or terms advertised) and 46.2-
1575(2)(failure to comply subsequent to receipt of a written 
warning/willful failure to comply).  The Board voted to assess a 
$5,000 civil penalty and require that Mr. Abbasi successfully complete 
the Dealer-Operator Course by November 14, 2009. 
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IS IT ON DISPLAY OR A SHOW? 
 

It has been common practice for 
motor vehicle dealers to show 
motor vehicles in malls and 
airports.  These types of static 
displays have been interpreted as 
a “show”.  The Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Board has not required an 
off-site (temporary 
supplemental) license as long as 
no sales activity was taking place 
away from the licensed location. 
 
In addition, some commercial 
establishments such as Costco 
and Sam’s Club have relationships 
with dealers whereby the dealers 
offer special pricing for members 
of these stores.  Often times a 
vehicle will be on display at the 
entrance of the commercial 
establishment as an 
advertisement for the buying 
service.  The only price posted on 
the vehicle would be the 
Monroney Sticker and no sales 
would be taking place at the 
store. 
 
Criteria for Display/Shows 
The following criteria are used to 
differentiate between an 
Advertising Display/Show and 
display for sale requiring a 
supplemental off-site sales 
license.  Situations meeting the 
listed criteria are deemed to be 
an Advertising Display/Show and 
would not require a supplemental 
license.  Displays not meeting the 
criteria would require a 
supplemental license. 

 
• Vehicle should not be readily 
visible from a public roadway. 

 
(Continued to page 5) 

DMV ACTIONS 
 

The MVDB does not have “police powers” and therefore can not make arrests 
in matters that carry a criminal sanction.  Over the years, MVDB and DMV 
have worked very closely to investigate situations that may include alleged 
criminal activity. 
 
The DMV LAW ENFORCEMENT SERVICES (LES) unit plays a significant role in 
enforcing criminal laws related to the sale of motor vehicles as well as titling 
and registration of motor vehicles. 
 
Occasionally, Dealer Talk will include a summary of some of the 
investigations conducted by DMV Law Enforcement Services.  Many of these 
investigations were conducted in partnership with Dealer Board staff. 
 
Richmond . . . Jody Crown of Carnet in Richmond reported that Chris 
Williams and Bruce Hendrix were buying used vehicles wholesale from local 
franchise dealers in Henrico and Hanover Counties.  When purchasing the 
wholesale vehicles, Williams and Hendrix represented themselves as 
employees of CARNET.  Neither Williams or Hendrix are employed by 
CARNET.  There were approximately 20+ purchases made by Williams and 
Hendrix.  Warrants have been obtained and served.  Charges are pending in 
Henrico and Hanover General District Courts. 
 
Winchester . . . Based on information received from the Dealer Board, DMV 
Agents visited a dealer in Winchester and found a non-licensed salesperson 
on the premises.  The non-licensed salesperson admitted to selling nine (9) 
motor vehicles since he was hired in July 2009. 
 
The unlicensed salesperson had in his possession a dealer tag he used to 
allow prospective buyers to test drive the vehicles.  The unlicensed 
salesperson admitted he had been issuing 30-day temporary tags to 
customers who had made vehicle purchases. 
 
The dealer-operator was not on the premises and was contacted by 
telephone.  The dealer tag in possession of the unlicensed salesperson and 
30-day temporary tags in his possession were seized and are being held as 
evidence, pending court adjudication.   
 
Winchester . . . Ed Spence of South Loudon Auto Sales notified the Dealer 
Board about an individual selling vehicles in the Winchester area without a 
dealer’s license.  
 
On July 9, 2009, a DMV agent met with the individual and found him in 
violation of selling vehicles without a dealer’s license. The agent reviewed 
the curbstoning and dealer licensing laws with the individual and advised him 
that further violations could result in criminal charges. 
 

Strasburg . . . DMV agents charged Gary Holsinger with violations of 46.2-
1508 (Curbstoning). The Shenandoah County Commonwealth’s Attorney 
entered into a plea agreement with Holsinger.  Holsinger agreed to “Be of 
good behavior for a period of one-year and not violate any laws and pay all 
court costs.”  If he complies, the court will have the charges quashed. 
 
 

(Continued to page 5) 
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IS IT DISPLAY OR A SHOW? 
(Continued from page 4) 

 

 

• Advertising on the vehicle may 
only include the Monroney 
Sticker for a new motor vehicle 
and a Monroney like sticker (No 
larger than 8.5 inches by 11 
inches.) and the buyers guide 
for used vehicles; the 
dealership or auto buying 
program name, address, and 
telephone number. 
 

• The price of the vehicle should 
not be displayed anywhere on 
the vehicle other than on the 
Monroney Sticker for new motor 
vehicles or the Monroney like 
sticker as described above for 
used motor vehicles. 
 

• With the exception of the 
Monroney Sticker for new motor 
vehicles or the Monroney like 
sticker as described above for 
used motor vehicles or the 
dealership or auto buying 
program name, address, and 
telephone number, no 
advertising should be displayed 
or written on the vehicle.   

DMV ACTIONS 
(Continued from page 4) 

 
Lynchburg . . . Ms Peggy Dixon stated in a letter that she purchased a 
2001 Nissan Maxima from Lynchburg Imports and it was not inspected 
prior to her purchase.   
 
A DMV agent reviewed Lynchburg Imports’ records and discovered that 
the vehicle was sold three times to retail customers (reposed twice) and 
was inspected only once.   
 
The DMV agent served two warrants on Wilson charging him with two 
counts of violating Virginia Code 46.2-1539.  Wilson was released on a 
summons and was later convicted for violating Virginia code 46.2-1539 
(Fail to inspect a vehicle prior to retail sale).  Wilson was fined and 
placed on 12 months unsupervised probation.  
 
Wytheville . . . The Gate City DMV reported to a DMV agent that Mr. 
Everett Garland had titled a great number of vehicles.  The agent found 
that he sold 18 vehicles from April 2008 to October 2008. The DMV agent 
obtained three warrants, “Acting as a Dealer without a License”.  The 
Judge in Scott County General District Court Found that Garland was guilty 
and assessed a $125.00 fine and $65.00 in court costs. 
 

Wytheville . . . DMV received information that Dereck Cordle was selling 
vehicles in Scott County.  DMV records indicate he sold seven vehicles in 
2008. A DMV agent made contact with Cordle advising him to obtain a 
dealer license. Cordle agreed that he would not sell any more vehicles 
until he obtained a dealer license. A summons was issued for acting as a 
dealer without a license. On September 1, 2009 in Scott County General 
District Court, the Judge dismissed the charge.   
 
Roanoke . . . In early June 2009, a DMV agent received an anonymous 
complaint alleging that Mr. David  Allen was engaging in business as a 
motor vehicle dealer and was also passing along titles that he had never 
secured in his own name. 
 
The assigned DMV agent reviewed the information and confiscated 
several open titles from Allen's residence.  The DMV agent contacted 
Allen, who advised that he was currently working out of state.  Allen 
further advised that he was giving his wife permission to sign his name to 
the titles and transfer the titles into his name. 
 
The assigned DMV agent met with Mrs. Allen at the Roanoke CSC and she 
titled five vehicles into her husband's name.  Case closed - SUT and fees 
collected; subject counseled and warned. 
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Department Of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
Customer Service Centers Hours 

 
Open To The Public Open To The Public 

 
Open To The Public 

Mon-Fri 9:00 – 5:00 
Sat 8:00 – 12:00 (Except 
where otherwise noted.) 

Mon-Fri 8:00 – 5:00 
Sat 8:00 – 12:00 (Except where 

otherwise noted.) 

Mon-Fri 10:00 – 6:30 
Sat 10:00 – 6:30 

Bristol District 
Abington 
Bristol 
Clintwood - * Closed Saturdays 
Galax 
Gate City - * Closed Saturdays 
Jonesville - * Closed Saturdays 
Lebanon - *  Closed Saturdays 
Marion - * Closed Saturdays 
Norton 
Pulaski 
Tazewell 
Vansant - * Closed Saturdays 
Wytheville 

Roanoke District 
Altavista - * Closed Saturdays 
Bedford 
Christiansburg 
Covington - * Closed Saturdays 
Danville 
Martinsville 
Rocky Mount 
South Boston 

Staunton District 
Culpeper 
Front Royal 
Lexington - * Closed Saturdays 
Staunton - * Closed Saturdays 
Warrenton 
Waynesboro - * Closed Saturdays 
Woodstock - * Closed Saturdays 

Richmond District 
Emporia - * Closed Saturdays 
Farmville 
Kilmarnock - * Closed Saturdays 
South Hill - * Closed Saturdays 
Tappahannock 

Portsmouth District 
Courtland – * Closed Saturdays 
Gloucester 
Norfolk Widgeon Road 
Smithfield - * Closed Saturdays 
Suffolk 
Williamsburg 

Roanoke District 
Lynchburg 
Roanoke 

Staunton District 
Charlottesville 
Harrisonburg 
Winchester 

Fairfax North District 
Arlington 
Fairfax Westfields 
Leesburg 
Sterling 
Tysons Corner 

Fairfax South District 
Alexandria 
Franconia 
Fredericksburg 
Manassas 
Stafford 
Woodbridge 

Richmond District 
Chester 
Chesterfield 
East Henrico 
Hopewell 
North Henrico 
Petersburg 
Richmond 
West Henrico 

Portsmouth District 
Chesapeake 
Hampton 
Newport News 
Norfolk Military Circle 
Onancock - * Closed Saturdays 
Portsmouth 
VA Beach Buckner 
VA Beach Hilltop 

Fairfax North District 
Fair Oaks Mall 
 

Fairfax South District 
Springfield Mall 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Open to Pentagon 

employees 
Mon – Fri 8:00 – 4:00 

 
Fairfax South District 
Pentagon  
(Pentagon Employees Only) 
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Dealer-Operator Course 
 

The Virginia Community College System and the Virginia Independent Automobile Dealers Association 
(VIADA) have teamed up to present a two-day Dealer-Operator course. The following is a list of up-coming 
classes. The list is regularly updated on our WEB site at 
http://www.mvdb.virginia.gov/licensingprocess.htm. 
 

2009 
 
October 20 & 21 – New River Community College, Dublin 
Contact: Patricia Ryan and Kathy Ridpath at 540-674-3633; http://www2.nr.edu/admissions/ 
 
November 10 & 11 - Tidewater Community College, Norfolk 
Contact: Registration; 757-822-1234; www.tcc.edu/wd 
 
November 17 & 18 - Piedmont Community College, Charlottesville 
Contact: Maggie Myers; 434-961-5495 or mmmyers@pvcc.edu; www.pvcc.edu 
 
December 8 & 9 - Lord Fairfax Community College, Middletown 
Contact: Registration; 540-868-7021; www.lfccworkforce.com 
 
2010 
 
January 5 & 6 - Germanna Community College, Fredericksburg 
Contact: Susan Brown; 540-891-3012; www.gcc.vccs.edu/workforce   
 
January 19 & 20 – New River Community College, Dublin 
Contact: Kathy Ridpath at 540-674-3633; www.nr.edu/workforce/ 
 
February 9 & 10 – Northern Virginia Community College, Reston 
Contact: Claire Wynn; 703-450-2551; www.nvcc.edu/loudoun/continuing 
 
 
Registration materials and information are available from each of the Community 
Colleges’ WEB site or by calling the individual college. 
 
The cost is $300 and must be submitted by check or credit card, payable to the college, 
and submitted with the registration. NOTE: Beginning January 1, 2010 the cost will be 
$325 if you register at least two weeks prior to the date of the course and $375 if you 
register within two weeks of the first day of the course. 

 


