How to Become a Licensed Salesperson in Virginia
To become a licensed Motor Vehicle Salesperson, you must meet the requirements of Virginia
law and the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. You must pass a salesperson examination, complete
forms with required signatures, submit fees, and send all documentation to the MVDB for approval.
In most cases, you will coordinate this process with the dealership you will be working for,
since all approved salesperson's licenses are sent directly to the dealership.
For your convenience, the salesperson examination can be taken at any
DMV Customer Service Center. For DMV times and locations go
Remember: Until this entire process is complete and approved by the MVDB,
you are NOT authorized to sell motor vehicles in Virginia. As previously stated,
your approved salesperson license will be sent directly to the dealership at which you
Step 1: Taking the Salesperson Test ($50 Test fee at DMV)
- For a better chance of success at passing the Salespersons Exam, download the study guide
from MVDB 35, Salesperson Study Guide.
- Complete the MVDB 57 Dealer-Operator/Salesperson Qualification Test Application (check Salesperson Test).
- Go to the DMV Customer Service Center to take the Salesperson Exam.
A $50 testing fee is required at the time of examination.
- DMV will set you up on the testing console. If you pass the examination, your paid
receipt will indicate you have passed and qualified to become a salesperson.
This, however, is NOT a license to sell motor vehicles.
- If you fail the examination, you can retake it that same day, but you must pay the $50 fee
Step 2: Applications and Fees to Apply for a Salesperson .
License ($30/$60 Application Fee, depending on your dealership’s renewal period date,
and $10 Criminal Background Fee)
Step 3: License Issuance
If the forms you submit are correct and your application is approved, your salesperson
license will be mailed directly to the dealership where you will be employed, usually
within seven (7) business days of Board receipt.
Note: You may NOT act as or sell motor vehicles as a
salesperson until the Salesperson’s License is in your possession.
No “1099”. Please remember that salespersons may not be
independent contractors paid via IRS Form “1099”. Salespersons must be
employees of the dealership, which usually means that they receive an IRS
Form “W-2” at the end of the tax year.